WIAW Before Thanksgiving Edition

November 23, 2011 at 6:33 am 14 comments

Thank goodness it is Wednesday! I am taking my Rheumatology exam this morning, hopping in my car, and hoping to beat the traffic as I head home for Thanksgiving! We are breaking the rules and having our feast on Friday this year in order to share my sister with her boyfriend’s family. That is okay with me though – more time for Mom and I to hang out and cook together! Can’t wait to share pictures from our holiday table, but until then, here are some of my simpler meals of late! Check out Peas and Crayons for more meal inspiration, and Happy Thanksgiving!

Breakfast: 8:30am

IMG_4850

I’m trying to think outside of the box when it comes to my oatmeal creations. If you can hide carrots in cake and make it taste delicious, then surely you can make carrot cake oatmeal, right? For my first attempt, this wasn’t all bad! I stirred in a grated carrot with some ground flax, cinnamon and a tiny bit of brown sugar. At the end, I added a spoonful of cream cheese and a few raisins. The first bite was not sweet enough, so I added in 1/3 of a banana as well. It was good, but not worthy of having cake in its title. Next time I make it, I am going to try more banana, less carrot, and less cream cheese! I think that should do the trick…

Mid-morning run: 11:30

Running first thing in the morning means temps in the 30’s and strong winds off the harbor. Waiting until mid-day makes running outside much more pleasant! It also nicely breaks up my study day and helps me be more productive with my morning, knowing that I have a fast 3 miles in the brisk Boston autumn to look forward to.

Lunch: 1pm

IMG_4857

Veggies in my oatmeal, so fruit on my sandwich! I spread some homemade cranberry sauce on a leftover piece of whole wheat baguette, and then layered half of a sliced pear and a bit of brie cheese. This combo was great, and will definitely be reappearing as I have some Thanksgiving leftovers! I really wanted to make this a panini, but my eyes were bigger than my stomach bread, and the sandwich wouldn’t stay together. That’s okay, an open-faced sandwich is just as yummy!

Afternoon snack: 3pm

IMG_4835

The only way to get through a long day of studying is with good music, period breaks to stretch your legs, and good snacks! I really wanted my last pear, but it wasn’t ripe enough yet! Instead, I settled for an extra vegan black bean brownie. Since more chocolate is always a hard choice, right? ;) I munched on a few handfuls of peanuts as I studied and listened to my church’s new Christmas CD, which is available for streaming here! I may or may not have been listening to this and a few other Christmas CDs on repeat for the past few days… If you like what you hear, it’s also available for purchase on iTunes!

image-76466-full

Dinner: 7pm

IMG_4861

A friend and I began making dinner together the night before every exam at the beginning of the year as a way to relax, fit in a brief review, and mentally prepare ourselves for the upcoming exam. Somehow, we ended up making stir fry before two exams in a row, and that ended up sticking as a new pre-exam tradition! Not that I really think that stir fry really affects my exam score… This was the best one yet, in my opinion. We sautéed an onion, a stalk of Brussels sprouts, a tiny head of red cabbage, some mushrooms, jalapeno peppers, and carrots in a vegetarian stir fry sauce, served over rice. We have a system: I’m the veggie master, my friend makes the chicken (for the guys), and his roommate makes the rice. That’s what I call teamwork! I enjoyed my small plate with a glass of red wine, and a few nibbles of chocolate for dessert!

Question: What are your Thanksgiving plans? Are you doing any of the cooking?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

Adventures In Vegan Baking WIA… on Thanksgiving Day

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brokencookiesdontcount  |  November 23, 2011 at 6:47 am

    The open faced sandwich looks yummy and anything is better with Brussel sprouts!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm

      I agree! Missed Brussels sprouts at Thanksgiving this year, our grocery store ran out!

      Reply
  • 3. Shannon (Healthiful Balance)  |  November 23, 2011 at 7:18 am

    All your eats look great! I really want one of those brownies now! :D

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      Thanks! They are easy to make, and no one will believe the secret ingredient if you choose to divulge it!

      Reply
  • 5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 23, 2011 at 8:37 am

    Oh love that sandwich. Good luck on the exam.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      Thanks! Looking forward to some more cranberry sauce leftover sandwiches!

      Reply
    • 7. hotchoc  |  February 8, 2012 at 4:23 am

      That sandwich looks divine, im going to have to try it myself.

      Reply
  • 8. Sara @my less serious life  |  November 23, 2011 at 3:16 pm

    that sandwich looks awesome! i never think to buy brie, but i sure do love it – i should buy it more!

    Reply
    • 9. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:50 pm

      I only buy it as a special treat, but the prices at Trader Joe’s are pretty reasonable for cheese, so I need to remember to head there more often!

      Reply
  • 10. Jessica  |  November 23, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    Your breakfast sounds delicious! Looks like a day of good eats!

    Reply
  • 11. sprint2thetable  |  November 23, 2011 at 7:45 pm

    Black bean brownies are my favorite! I make a GF version (not vegan) with Mexican spices that is my go-to. Come to think of it… I need to make it again soon!

    Reply
    • 12. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:51 pm

      That sounds like a good idea! Maybe next time I’ll cut back the coffee and add some cinnamon and spice instead!

      Reply
  • 13. Living, Learning, Eating  |  November 26, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Everything looks so delicious!

    Reply
    • 14. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:46 pm

      Thanks, love getting the chance to cook with my mom!

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other subscribers

Memberships