Cucumber Grilled Cheese

October 25, 2013 at 9:08 am Leave a comment

Ok, so here’s my first attempt at a recipe post. I have made this sandwich for lunch three times this week and bragged to Jen about it so she encouraged me to share it as my first post!

So, who doesn’t love grilled cheese? There is something so remarkably comforting about a simple grilled cheese sandwich, especially when paired with a bowl of tomato soup. I also love the flavor combinations of Greek food, especially Tziki sauce.  I was inspired to make this sandwich from a post I saw on Pinterest.

I love to make my own Tziki dip, but who wants to do all that work for a quick lunch sandwich, so I came up with a cheater to still get the flavor.  This sandwich combines all the flavors I love, pumpernickel bread, cucumber, dill, and goat cheese, which packs a punch with flavor.

To begin, I weighed my goat cheese on a kitchen scale.  It is easy to completely load or sandwiches up with unnecessary fat and calories, and until you have a great understanding of servings, this is the easiest suggestion to monitor calorie intake.  You may be surprised with how much you end up with, a serving often being larger or smaller than you think. After weighing out an ounce of cheese, I popped it in the microwave for 10 seconds to make if more spreadable. You can skip this step if you leave the cheese sitting on the counter for a little bit, but let’s be honest, who thinks that far ahead? I know when I’m hungry, it is time to make that sandwich and eat it!I This makes the cheese wonderfully spreadable. Then layer the cucumbers up on top of the cheese. This is the fun part. No measuring, just as much as you desire. Nobody got fat by eating too many vegetables! I personally prefer my cucumbers sliced very thinly so I can pile them up higher and feel like there is more on there, but feel free to cut to your desire! I also peeled my cucumber, simply because it is on it’s way out of being good (frugality at its finest!) On this particular sandwich I photographed I do feel like I would have liked more cucumbers. Live and learn!

IMG_0475

On the other piece of bread I make my quick tziki. I simply spread a thin layer of greek yogurt on the other piece of bread, sprinkled some onion powder and dill.  These flavors combined with cucumber very successfully imitates the tziki flavor, though I will post the recipe at a later time, being that it is one of my favorite dips to make for veggies. After the sandwich was assembled, I sprayed both sides with cooking spray.  This way, you achieve the buttery flavor on the outside without loading up on the calories of spreading butter all over.  It also helps crisp up the bread.  I cooked my sandwich on my George Foreman grill because I like the lines and even texture it gives, but there is nothing stopped you from throwing it in a frying pan the old fashioned way!

IMG_0477

I will work on more appetizing pictures. My sister is an incredible photographer. I am an amateur with an Iphone 5 haha

I accompanied my sandwich with a bunch of plain baby carrots.  For me it added the crunch and sweetness I needed to feel completely full and satisfied.  If you are counting calories or doing WeightWatchers, this entire sandwich is 7 points, mostly due to the pumpernickel bread which is 2 points a slice, but feel free to find a different brand!

Goat Cheese and Cucumber Grilled Cheese

serves 1, 7 points total

2 slices pumpernickel bread

cucumber (however much you desire)

1 ounce goat cheese

1 tsp Greek yogurt

1 tsp dill

1 tsp onion powder

2 sprays cooking spray

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Sister Sister Five Life Lessons Learned in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 219 other followers

Memberships


