WIA… on Thanksgiving Day

November 24, 2011 at 11:27 pm 4 comments

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! I hope your day was filled with good food, friends, family, and words of thanks for all of the many blessings we have in our lives. My family is being a bit non-traditional this year… we postponed Thanksgiving! My sister is splitting the holiday with her boyfriend this year, so we agreed to have dinner a day late in order to share her. Plus, I didn’t arrive home until Wednesday evening, and my mom and I wanted plenty of time to prepare a proper Thanksgiving feast together! So my Thanksgiving Day eats might not be what you expect…

Morning workout 8:30am

I went for a quick 2.5 mi run through my neighborhood this morning, just to get my legs moving again from the long car ride yesterday. I wanted to stay out for longer, but forgot my gloves and my tingly hands told me to give up early!

Breakfast: 9:30am

IMG_4875

I enjoyed this lovely bowl of oatmeal over a few cups with my mom as we sat and “solved the problems of the world.” No better time to discuss weighty issues like medical ethics, politics, and family drama like than pre-caffeine, right? This oatmeal was another fall special: apple sauce, cubed apples, cinnamon, sliced almonds and dried cranberries. So good!

IMG_4880

A preview of our lightened up mashed potatoes for tomorrow!

The rest of our day was spent cooking for Thanksgiving dinner tomorrow, making as much ahead as possible. We have a lot of great things on our table this year, and I can’t wait to share pictures and a new recipe or two that we came up with! I couldn’t help but steal nibbles of the roasting potatoes, veggies, and bread cubes, so I wasn’t too hungry for lunch. I had of this morning’s breakfast leftovers and a crumble of cookie, but was too full for a real meal. After finishing our cooking, we took advantage of the warm weather to put up some of the outdoor Christmas lights. Can’t help but sing some Christmas songs when that happens…

Afternoon workout 5:30pm

My mom is trying to incorporate some stretching and weight lifting into her daily routine, so we tried out a 10 minute beginner’s yoga routine (free on Exercise TV on my parent’s cable) and I taught her a simple free weights routine that included high knees, tricep extensions, bicep curls, shoulder presses, and a few more fun exercises. It is simple and takes only 10 minutes, so hopefully it is something she can use on a daily basis!

Dinner: 6:30pm

IMG_4879

Roasted squash before making the soup - love the bright orange color!

IMG_4886

More great colors from the beets and carrots before mixing the salad.

IMG_4892

My mom made some wonderful fall treats, trying out some vegetarian recipes that she found. She has a Whole Foods app on her iPad and bookmarks any veggie recipe that reminds her of me so she has a full arsenal of things to try out whenever I come home! Tonight, she made a fall salad with apple, carrot, beet, turnip and a citrus dressing. We ate that along with a butternut and acorn squash soup, a real treat since she made it with cream cheese! I enjoyed it with some pumpkin ale and bread for a perfect fall meal with my parents.

Dessert: 9pm

IMG_4872

We were entrenched in a tough came of cards (anyone else play Canasta?), and needed a mid-game treat to pull us through. Good thing my friend and I made pumpkin chocolate chip cookies last night! The recipe is at the end of the post in case you need anymore post-Thanksgiving pumpkin! I went from losing at cards badly to winning the game by a tiny margin – cookies for the win? I think so!

Question: What are you thankful for this year?

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 1/4 cup pumpkin

1 cup sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1 tsp milk

2 cup flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

pinch nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups chocolate chips

Mix together wet ingredients in one bowl and dry ingredients in other. Stir dry into wet mixture until well combined. Add chocolate chips. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto greased cookie trays. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned. Store in a sealed container.

Entry filed under: Random, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

WIAW Before Thanksgiving Edition Giving Thanks

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 25, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    You might yet make me an oatmeal convert. Love the cookies!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  November 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm

      Oatmeal can be delicious, I promise! I have converted my mom and dad, too.

      Reply
  • 3. Allison's Delicious Life  |  November 25, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Those cookies look awesome!

    Thanksgiving is all about the people, the food, and counting your blessings. The day really doesn’t matter at all. Enjoy it tonight!

    Reply
  • 4. An Analysis of Failed Cookies « homemadeadventure  |  December 12, 2011 at 7:41 am

    […] lava mess! Don’t worry – even ugly cookies still taste good. ;) (And at least our pumpkin chocolate chip cookies were a huge […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


