WIAW Green Edition

March 28, 2012 at 1:16 pm 1 comment

In honor of the last What I Ate Wednesday in March, I decided to green my meals for the day! Despite a day of studying hematology, I still managed to sneak in some fun, healthy meals and a quick run. Since I have to get back to the books, I will let the pictures do the talking! They are also the links to the original recipes, if you are interested in trying something out for yourself!

IMG_5516

Breakfast, 8:30am: Angela's Green Monster Overnight Oats. Not as good as the smoothie, but it definitely kept me full all morning!

2012-03-27_14-03-04_946

Lunch, 1:30pm: Impromptu diner visit with a friend led to a delicious lunch of root vegetable hash hidden by two eggs over a bed of mixed greens. Delicious!

IMG_5520

Dinner, 7:30pm: What I packed for lunch became dinner. Leftover Great Grains Salad over lettuce with an orange for dessert.

IMG_4219

Study snacks, 9pm: Yes, this is a recycled picture, but the scene looked almost exactly the same! A bowl of popcorn sprinkled with nutritional yeast and a piece of toast got me through the rest of the evening.

3/3 of my meals had a green veggie base – that is what I call a WIAW gone green success! To make things even greener, my roommate and I started composting yesterday! Since we are city folk with no yard, we never thought this would be an option for us. However, friends told us about Boostrap Composting, which delivers compost buckets to your door, and picks them up on a schedule. If you compost enough, you can get some of your own homemade fertilizer back! We are excited to venture into this new world of waste, and would love to hear more about your experiences if anyone has composted before!

Question: How do you go green?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , .

Tofu Redemption and Guy Friendly Greens An Overdue Review

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. everydayvegangirl  |  March 29, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    Thank you for the welcome to WIAW…I had to check out your blog too! I study the same way you do…laptop and big bowl of popcorn (my latest night time snack). I also love your “for the love of oatmeal” page…I was thinking of doing a similar page since I love oatmeal so much and do so many different things with it. I did a post on a week’s worth of oatmeal…you should check it out! I’m sure many are similar to yours…yea to oatmeal! http://everydayvegangirl.blogspot.com/2012/02/week-of-oatmeal-7-fantastic-creations.html

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other subscribers

Memberships