In Defense of Snacks

August 20, 2011 at 9:00 am 3 comments

IMG_4219
Back to school, back to exams, back to study snacking. As much as I hate to admit it, I am definitely a muncher when I am studying. This has led to two outcomes: I lost a lot of weight during college because I wouldn’t be hungry enough to eat real meals, but wasn’t eating enough to keep up with my activity level. At other times, it has led me to gain weight, a consequence of mindless calorie consumption. No major swings, but enough to cause my mom and sister to worry (not to mention I’m not really a fan of either problem!) I tried to fix this by cutting out snacking all together, but that wasn’t really working for me either! I couldn’t eat enough at meal times to keep me from getting hungry (read: grumpy) in between. So I have resumed my study snacking ways, but have limited it to one to two snacks a day, and I try to keep them healthy. My current favorites: raisins and almonds, dry roasted edamame, roasted sunflower seed kernels, apples, and this popcorn!

IMG_4216

Popcorn is a great snack food when veggie sticks or a piece of fruit just won’t cut it. I love veggies as much as more than most people, but I need a good, salty snack every once in a while! You can save a lot of money, fat and calories by making your own popcorn, and can make fun flavors, too. I have an air-popper, but you can do it over the stove as well. Three tablespoons of kernels is all it takes to make a huge bowl, at cents per serving and only 100 calories or so! For a classic movie theater bowl, I simply use canola oil and sea salt. With my recent purchase of nutritional yeast, I got a little more creative and made my own cheese popcorn! (Remember when I said I wasn’t at the point of being able to just sprinkle it on something? I guess my taste buds adapt quickly!) The flavor is just salty and cheesy enough to be amazing, and it is (filled with fiber, protein packed, lower in fat and salt) good for you! Cheesy popcorn not your think? Brainstorm other fun flavors! Spicy, classic kettle corn, chocolate… just a few others I have tried. Let me know what you come up with! I have a long year of studying ahead ;)

Questions: Are you a study snacker? What is your favorite snack food?

IMG_4217

Homemade Smart Food

makes 1 large or 2 small servings

3 tbsp popcorn kerels

1 tbsp canola oil

1 tbsp nutritional yeast

1 tsp salt

Pop kernels in an air popper or using the stove method. Drizzle with oil, nutritional yeast and salt. Cover container and shake until well coated.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Summer Bean Salad A Roommate Inspired Dinner

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  August 20, 2011 at 9:49 am

    You have to keep your energy up and this is a healthy way to do it.

    Reply
  • 2. Joy  |  August 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    I love snacking while studying. Fruits are a great option for doing so.

    Reply
    • 3. jenlenew  |  August 20, 2011 at 5:54 pm

      Especially if covered in Nutella, right Joy? ;)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


