Tofu Redemption and Guy Friendly Greens

March 27, 2012 at 7:00 am 3 comments

IMG_5515

An amazing turn of events occurred this past weekend: I found a recipe for tofu that I really love! I had seen Angela’s Crispy Tofu Dippers and they peaked my interest, since it turned both her and her husband around from tofu hatred as well. I decided I had to try them, and then they sat on my overcrowded Recipe Pinsperation board for weeks. After a long overdue grocery run, I finally bought some tofu and tried the recipe for myself! I followed some advice I got last time and pressed the tofu for longer than I usually do, which helped with the texture. I cut slices, dipped them in almond milk, breaded them, and then popped them in the oven and hoped for the best. The result: crispy, crunchy tofu nuggets! I added a hint of paprika to my breading since I love spice, and was really pleased with how well the coating stayed on these! The leftovers are great reheated in the toaster oven. I also tried them cold over a salad for lunch, but was not a fan. Baby steps in my tofu journey!

IMG_5514

Along with the tofu dippers, I made Beer Braised Collard Greens. This is another recipe that might change your mind about an unloved member of the greens family. My friend and I made these weeks back after finding the recipe on the Boston Organics website. When cooking for 3 guys plus myself, you know the vegetables have to taste good so they don’t get overlooked! These collard greens came out so flavorful that they overshadowed the rest of the meal that we prepared! The biggest problem with collards is that they can often be too chewy, so allowing them to cook in the beer for 20 minutes really helps with this problem. The hint kick of spice from the red pepper flakes really makes this dish stand out. I have made it twice since then, with amazing results every time. I followed the original recipe, only leaving out the brown sugar the last time I made it.

IMG_5508

Question: What is one food you are learning to love?

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Rabbit Food that Tastes Good WIAW Green Edition

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  March 27, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    And a Blue Moon on the side. Gotta love it.

    Reply
  • 2. Stuffed Collard Greens « homemadeadventure  |  June 8, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    […] them, since they can be bitter and difficult to cook. I love them! Collard greens do not have to be braised or stewed for hours with salty ham hocks to be enjoyable. They also make an interesting wrapper, […]

    Reply
  • 3. Homemade Smoker | homemadeadventure  |  May 18, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    […] What I can more fully detail, however, is the spice rub and the sides. While there are many great pre-mixed beef rubs on the market, we decided to make our own. I mean, if we made our own smoker, might as well make it homemade all the way, right? Pre-made mixes also usually contain a lot of salt, so making your own allows you to control the sodium levels as well as the flavor. We followed this Big Bad Beef Rub recipe, adding a little extra cayenne because we both like the kick. We rubbed that all over our 6 lb brisket and let it sit for about a half hour. Once we got the smoker to the right temperature, we put the meat on, closed the lid and prayed. (We were hungry and a little nervous that our experiment would fail!) We waited, checked the smoker, added some water to the wood chips, and waited some more. The total cooking process took 10 hours, so we did a lot of waiting! To pass the time, we cooked up some delicious southern sides: Ina Garten’s jalapeno cheddar corn bread and my favorite Beer Braised Collard Greens. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


