WIAW Back in the Swing of Things

March 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm 5 comments

Well, it is about time that I face reality. Even though it is abnormally warm in Boston, my beach vacation is over and I am back to the books for the next two months. I will be putting in some long days of studying for the USMLE Board Exams, so my routine is starting to look pretty monotonous. Study, eat, study, run, shower, eat, study, study, study, eat, sleep. I didn’t know it was humanly possible to sit for so long and cram so much information into my brain each day! At least I have good, healthy food to power me through the day.

Breakfast: 7:30am

IMG_5482

A productive day always starts with a good bowl of oatmeal in my book. I made my trail mix oatmeal, adding cinnamon and chia seeds to the mix and cooked in just water, since I have run out of unsweetened almond milk! Delicious and wholesome, enjoyed with black, French press coffee and a bottle of water.

Morning snack: 11am

IMG_5483

Before my sprint work out, I needed a little fuel to carry me through. My favorite pre-run snack is dates dipped in almond butter. They are sweet and protein packed, but won’t sit heavy in your stomach while running. Enjoyed, of course, with another bottle of water. (Gotta make my 3L for the Game On challenge!)

Lunch: 1:30pm

IMG_5484

The warmer weather makes salad eating much more enjoyable! A few friends and I met for lunch, and sat on the lawn in front of school to take full advantage of the beautiful weather! I had a big bowl of lettuce topped with thawed corn, peas, a black bean burger, and salsa. This was pretty spicy, and huge! Good thing I had a big bottle of water to wash it down with!

Afternoon snack: 4pm

IMG_5486

I was pretty hungry after my morning of sprinting and biking, so I had a big bowl of Greek yogurt when I got home! I used some applesauce to sweeten it, and added a bit of almond butter, cocoa powder, and cinnamon in an attempt to get something comparable to a chocolate pudding. It wasn’t exactly what I was going for, but it tasted good enough. Plus, the protein powered me through the rest of my afternoon of studying!

Dinner: 7:45pm

IMG_5490

An impromptu roommate dinner was called for by Marie this morning! Who am I to say no to a chance to cook a delicious meal while processing life with such a good friend? We made what I am calling Cauliflower Dal, and it might be the best recipe we have concocted in quite some time. It is simple, flavorful, and really healthy! The recipe post will be up tomorrow, if you are interested! We chose naan over rice to help soak up the sauce, and enjoyed a leisurely dinner together.

Even though my day was busy and life is starting to get stressful, my health is a priority and I am glad to take the time each day to prepare and fill myself with good, nutritious food! Remind me that when things get even crazier in the upcoming months!

Question: What is the best thing you ate today?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Cooking with Grandma Cauliflower Dal

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  March 21, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    I love how you never tire of oatmeal, but it never looks the same.

    Reply
  • 2. sara @my less serious life  |  March 22, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    i love french press coffee! i am too lazy to make it for myself – but whenever my boyfriend is over he makes it for us. soooo much better than drip!

    Reply
  • 4. Cauliflower Dal « homemadeadventure  |  March 23, 2012 at 9:36 am

    […] Wednesday night’s dinner was the epitome of perfection in my book: easy, healthy, cheap, flavorful, spicy, and warming. Marie and I decided last-minute to have a long overdue roommate dinner, and we were constrained by what we had on hand since neither of us had time during the day for a grocery run. Like I said, some of the best meals I have created come from a bit of pantry inspiration! […]

    Reply
  • 5. Failure Is Not an Option « homemadeadventure  |  April 16, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    […] the last thing I want to do during the last hour of my evening is come up with a blog post. I have mentioned before, but I am currently preparing to take the USMLE Step 1 at the end of May. This is the first […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other subscribers

Memberships