Game On

March 8, 2012 at 10:00 am 7 comments

A new month, a new challenge! My competitive nature has been brought out once again, this time for the Game On Challenge. My friends read the book and were inspired, so they got a group of us together to participate in this healthy living challenge. Although most of us already lead pretty healthy lifestyles, we all have our different motivations for participating. We are a week into the month-long challenge, and the competition is pretty fierce! All in a friendly way, of course. There are two teams of six, and the losing team rewards the winning team with gift certificates for a massage.

So what are the rules to this game? Well, there are a few basic categories: diet, exercise, sleep, hydration, habits, and communication. Every time you follow the rules within the category, you earn points. Every time you don’t follow the rules, you don’t gain points, and for a few circumstances, you lose points. You are allowed to take one day off per item per week with no penalty, or can cluster these days off if you specify ahead of time that you have a vacation or extenuating circumstances. To keep track of this, we have an epic spreadsheet, shared through GoogleDoc. A competitor, much more tech savvy than I, set it up so that the columns auto-fill and tally every time you record your day’s habits.

Screen shot 2012-03-07 at 9.29.15 PM

A few of the categories have pretty basic rules: you have to sleep at least 7 hours a night (sleep), you have to drink 3 L of water (hydration), and you have to communicate in some way with at least one teammate and one opponent every day. For exercise, you have to log 20 minutes of intentional exercise each day. This can be running, body resistance exercises, yoga, or a brisk walk. It cannot be biking or walking to class, or running to catch the bus you are late for!

205195326741557563_62p59rVV_f

From Pinterest

The most complicated sections are diet and habits. For diet, you must eat 3 solid meals each day. Breakfast must contain 1 fruit or vegetable, and lunch and dinner should have at least 2 vegetables that comprise at least half of your plate. One meal a day has to be vegan. None of your meals, snacks or ingredients can contain added sugar, with the exception of agave to sweeten morning coffee. You also lose points for any unhealthy snacks that break the above rules.

IMG_5386

Following the rules doesn't mean deprivation! This decadent breakfast I made the other day still fit the rules! Click the picture to get to the original post.

The habits section is individualized for each competitor. The goal is to choose one healthy habit to implement, and one unhealthy habit to break. My healthy habit: taking my vitamin every day. My unhealthy habit: getting off my computer a half hour before going to bed. This means stopping work for the day, getting ready for sleep, and giving myself a chance to read a book for fun or reflect on my day before passing out.

285626801336718655_5Itsmkpf_f

From Pinterest

So at first glance, there are a lot of rules. Why would I subject myself to this if I already live a pretty healthy lifestyle anyway? Well, a massage is a pretty good enticement! All kidding aside, I still think it is important to evaluate your habits and be more mindful of your routines every once in a while. Sure, the rules surrounding diet and exercise fit pretty well into how I already live. However, I am terrible at drinking water and getting sleep! Turning my computer off and forcing myself to relax is helping me to get more sleep at night, but I am still struggling with the water challenge! I find that I am drinking so much that I cannot snack between meals. My meals tend to be smaller with snacks fit in between, so losing this snack has meant that I am not always taking in as many calories as I need. I didn’t recognize this until I was running on Saturday with my roommate and was having weird pains and dizzy spells. My body is starting to get used to having more water in my stomach, so my appetite is slowly starting to return. I am also bulking up my meals slightly since I still have less desire to snack than usual. I am learning to balance this new habit, but do not think I could continue to drink quite as large a volume forever! I am hoping to get used to drinking more each day though, and intend to be continually mindful of drinking at least my 8 glasses a day.

We have three weeks left of the challenge! Do you want to join us? You can choose one transformation areas and commit to those goals for the next three weeks! Whether it be hydration, exercise, sleep or a healthy habit, it is good to be mindful of every aspect of your health and well-being.

Question: What area would be hardest for you to make a change in? Do you want to join us in any aspect of this challenge?

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Caramelized Banana Baked Oatmeal WIAW on Spring Break in FL

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  March 10, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    You’ll pass with flying colors!

    Reply
  • 3. Erin @littlesacrespace  |  March 12, 2012 at 4:58 am

    What a great idea. I’m so inspired! I love the idea of thinking about some habits you’d like to break and add and working toward healthy goals, but also giving some grace for mistakes to happen. 20 minutes of exercise a day seems do-able, too! I used to really dissuade myself from getting out the door to go running when I only had 20 minutes, but somewhere along the way (I think my sister pointed it out to me), I realized that 20 minutes is a pretty significant chunk of time. Now, if I could only knock this cold, I’d love to get myself onto this challenge, too! Congrats to you and your friends for all your great efforts toward living healthy lifestyles, and keep it up!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  March 12, 2012 at 6:20 am

      I was the same way, but you can get a good run in in just 20 minutes! Thanks for the encouragement and I hope you feel better soon!

      Reply
  • 5. Happy Weekending. « little sacred space  |  March 16, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    […] oven…you can let me know how they turn out.  Despite the weather here, I’m inspired by Jen and her friends’ health challenge, thinking of asking some of my friends abroad to join in on one with me.  We had delicious Korean […]

    Reply
  • 6. WIAW Back in the Swing of Things « homemadeadventure  |  March 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    […] stomach while running. Enjoyed, of course, with another bottle of water. (Gotta make my 3L for the Game On […]

    Reply
  • […] stay on track with your fitness goals! I definitely found this type of support essential during my Game On […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


