Highlights from Sunny Southwest Florida

March 19, 2012 at 10:44 pm 6 comments

There is nothing better for the body, mind and soul than spending a week relaxing on the beach. I have visited my family, who transplanted an hour south of Tampa about 8 years ago, several times and feel a comforting sense of familiarity when I return. There are always new places to explore and memories to make, but my goal was not sight-seeing this time. Instead, my days were structured around beach reading, studying, and hanging out with my grandparents! The best part about the beaches in the Sarasota area is that they all have their own character. You can pick the feel of your beach depending on your mood that day, all without ever having to go to far!

IMG_5418

Siesta Key

IMG_5412

Early morning beach front

IMG_5420

US #1 Rated Beach

Lucky for us, the #1 rated beach in the US is located less than a half hour’s drive from where my family lives. Siesta Key is known for its white sand and crystalline blue water. The quartz sand is powder soft and never gets hot, which makes for great beach strolls. The beach front is also huge, so the crowds that the recent publicity has drawn can be handled quite well. The downside of Siesta Key is the parking. The lot fills up before noon, leaving cars circling for emptying spots like hawks. My grandparents have learned, and so now we always head to this beach early. We arrived by 9am, with newspaper and book in hand, and enjoyed the less crowded views of the Gulf, the warm morning sun, and the soft stretches of sand.

IMG_5389

While Siesta Key may get the fame, the local beaches are an equally good option. The beach along the Venice fishing pier is the best local beach for swimming. The sand shelf drops off quickly, but the Gulf waters are warm and usually calm, which makes swimming pleasant. The beach grass and fishing pier also add some nice scenery, and there is great bird watching as the pelicans flock to see what share they can catch.

IMG_5452

IMG_5453

If you like nature and solitude, Caspersen’s is the place to find it. Along the side of the peninsula, the beach is narrow and the water edge is lined with huge rocks. Only one or two rows of chairs and towels can fit, which keeps the private beach feeling. The rocks also make excellent nets for shark tooth hunting, which is this beach’s claim to fame.

IMG_5431

IMG_5432

After a hot day at the beach, nothing beats a soft serve ice cream cone. My favorite Florida treat is the orange soft serve ice cream at Nokomis Groves. They also have flavors like lime, pineapple, vanilla, and chocolate, but the orange is the biggest draw. While my favorite combination is orange and vanilla, I branched out to try the pineapple swirl. While it was tasty, I didn’t like that the pineapple overpowered the orange. I will stick to my favorite on my next visit! There is always a line, but it moves quickly and is worth the wait. You can also get fresh Florida citrus, citrus-inspired foodie treats, and fresh squeezed juices in the attached market.

IMG_5395

IMG_5402

The best part of visiting Southwestern Florida is getting to see the sunset over the ocean. As an East Coast girl, this is something that I always love, seeing the flaming sun plunge into the cool ocean. The Venice Beach is an excellent spot to watch the sunset, but the Nokomis Inlet is another great option if you don’t want to sit in the sand.

Writing this post and looking through my vacation pictures makes me long to be at the beach instead of facing a long week of school and studying! Good thing the weather has been unseasonably warm, or I might face true sunshine withdrawal!

IMG_5444
Question: Are you a beach bum? Where is the best beach you have ever visited?

Entry filed under: Roamings. Tags: , , , , , , .

WIAW on Spring Break in FL Cooking with Grandma

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  March 20, 2012 at 6:09 pm

    Looks fun!

    Reply
  • 2. WIAW Back in the Swing of Things « homemadeadventure  |  March 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    […] it is about time that I face reality. Even though it is abnormally warm in Boston, my beach vacation is over and I am back to the books for the next two months. I will be putting in some long days of […]

    Reply
  • 3. realfunfood  |  March 22, 2012 at 4:13 am

    Loved seeing all these pictures! I’m from Tampa and we used to go to Clearwater beach all the time. I miss it!

    Reply
  • 4. orlando florida  |  August 21, 2014 at 11:52 pm

    Hi! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go
    over the same topics? Thanks a lot!

    Reply
  • 5. dental procedure  |  August 23, 2014 at 8:40 pm

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of info. I’m happy that you simply shared this useful information with us.
    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply
  • 6. whitening treatment  |  August 24, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    Hello to every body, it’s my first go to see of this website; this web site
    includes remarkable and really fine information in support of visitors.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


