WIAW While Recovering

October 12, 2011 at 7:00 am 8 comments

Time for another WIAW! Thank goodness this is a short week! I really needed Monday to recover from my half-marathon and other related festivities! I spent the day doing laundry, prepping snacks for the week, and enjoying good muscle-recovery food. Here is a glimpse into my day of domestic recovery!

Breakfast: 8:30am

IMG_4604

I woke up much earlier than planned because I was starving! I guess running 13.1 miles the day before will do that to you! I grabbed a handful of granola and tried to fall back asleep, but eventually gave in and got up. I am done with my sugar fast, so I enjoyed jam again for the first time in three weeks! One of my favorite combos on toast is berry jam with goat cheese, and this sandwich was made extra special by homemade blackberry jam from my visit to Italy and fancy bread from the pre-race pasta party.

Mid-morning bites

IMG_4608

IMG_4612

I spent most of my morning catching up on blog writing and reading, cleaning, doing laundry, and making snacks for the rest of the week! I made these bars from Miss Smart, and enjoyed a few bites as I was rolling them out! I also made these cookie dough balls from Chocolate Covered Katie, taste testing a bit here and there!

Lunch: 12:30pm

IMG_4607

Vitamins and minerals in leafy greens are also essential for muscle recovery, so I made myself a big raw kale salad! Angela recommends allowing the kale to marinate in the dressing for 15 minutes, so that is what I did. The result: balsamic marinated raw kale with cranberries, celery and almonds. I was surprised at how good this was! The kale softened a bit in the dressing and had more flavor and crunch than normal lettuce leaves. And how could a combo of balsamic, almonds, and cranberries be bad?

Afternoon bites

IMG_4611

I received a bag of whole almonds as a gift, and just couldn’t let them go to waste! I spent some time shelling them, and then made Chelsey’s cocoa roasted almonds. I probably nibbled as many cracked almond pieces as I did get successfully shelled almonds, but at least nothing went to waste. ;) And now I have a great study snack to satisfy any chocolate cravings I might have in the next few weeks! Afternoon snacking was rounded out by a crisp apple, though not pictured.

Dinner: 6pm

IMG_4539

My original plan for the afternoon was to make a Roasted Garlic and Potato soup that I have been daydreaming of for a while, complete with some homemade bread, but the unseasonable weather changed my mood! After having the oven on for only 20 minutes to roast the almonds, I decided it was way too hot out to make soup and bread. I pushed that recipe back into my head until it cools down later in the week, and settled on some leftover barley and beet risotto instead. Served with a little shredded Parmigiano Reggiano cheese on top – just as good as the first time! My night was finished off with a handful or two of BBQ potato chips and a glass of red wine while studying with a friend – a little splurge to treat myself for the previous day’s work!

Hope to be making that soup later today now that fall is back in Boston… stop by later this week to see the results!

Question: What is the best thing you ate today?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Recovery Milkshake Slow Food

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katy @ notjustacarnivore  |  October 12, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I love the idea of briefly marinating the kale! I might finally have a way to actually enjoy this sort-of super green. Thanks to you and Angela!

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 12, 2011 at 11:24 am

    That breakfast looks great and I know that I said sugar, shmugar, but I bet jam tasted great after the ban.

    Reply
    • 3. homemadeadventure  |  October 13, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      It was so good! I am using the last of my special jam sparingly, I don’t want it to be almost gone!

      Reply
  • 4. FreeSpiritEater  |  October 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    That looks like a real yummy breakfast! Love the teddy bear shot too. Thanks for sharing, great site! =]

    Reply
    • 5. homemadeadventure  |  October 13, 2011 at 2:01 pm

      Thanks so much! Too bad that was the last of my goat cheese so I can’t make it again for a while

      Reply
  • 6. Urban Camping and NH Hiking Adventure « homemadeadventure  |  October 17, 2011 at 7:01 am

    […] old!) and refueled on some snacks. The trail mix combo for this trip was a hit! Cinnamon Puffins, cocoa roasted almonds, peanuts, raisins, and honey roasted soy nuts. Even after this tasty snack, we were still hungry […]

    Reply
  • 7. WIAW Seasonal Confusion Edition « homemadeadventure  |  November 9, 2011 at 12:06 am

    […] friends ;)) got in the way of that! To tide my hunger and keep me going for my run, I snacked on a homemade Larabar for pre-run fuel. I made these a few weeks ago, and they are still good out of the Tupperware in my […]

    Reply
  • 8. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen  |  November 17, 2011 at 10:52 am

    I hope you enjoyed the Sara(h)bars!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other subscribers

Memberships