Slow Food

October 14, 2011 at 8:00 am 8 comments

My roommate dinner this week turned into a kitchen therapy project this week. We made a 3 course meal together, and still had not talked through all of our thoughts and ideas after 3 hours of work and chatter. We say this to each other often, but I am so thankful to have a great roommate to process life with. I so value her thoughts and opinions, and am glad for the time we take each week to slow down and reflect on what is going on in our lives. Our conversations are not blog worthy, but our meal definitely was!

IMG_4613

We began with my brain child: roasted potato and cauliflower soup. I had been day-dreaming about this soup from the moment I received my Boston Organics box. Many people are confused of what to do with cauliflower because it can be rather bland on its own, but that is what I love so much about it! It can soak up spices, hide in dishes, or come to life on its own depending on how you prepare it. I decided to use the cauliflower as a way to add “creaminess” to a traditional potato soup without all of the extra fat of cream. The soup definitely needs some tweaking, so I will post this as an outline rather than a real recipe. Please, take and run with it and let me know what you come up with! I roasted about a pound, or a bit more, of small white potatoes, seasoned lightly with olive oil and kosher salt for 20 minutes in a 350 degree oven. I then added a full head of cauliflower florets, turned the potatoes, and let everything roast for another 20 minutes. Meanwhile, I peeled 6-7 cloves of roasted garlic and added them whole to a stock pot with a bit of vegetable broth. I added the vegetables straight from the tray into the pot, covered everything with the rest of a 28-oz carton of broth and a sprig of fresh rosemary and let it boil for a while. I used the immersion blender to create a smooth soup, and added 1 cup of skim milk (though unsweetened almond milk would work if you are intolerant or vegan) and 1 cup of water for a more liquidy consistency. After the first taste test, I wasn’t happy with the flavor balance, so I added a heaping spoonful of Dijon mustard and a heavy handed shake of paprika. A pinch more of salt and pepper and I was finally happy! Not bad for my first recreation! For a more traditional, and more complete, potato soup, check out this recipe from Rufus’ Guide.

IMG_4614

Next up: homemade bread and salad. I was emailed this recipe by living learning eating a few weeks back, and was so excited to finally try it! It is a Honey Whole Wheat Bread, and is so soft and wonderful. It was my first attempt at free form bread (confession: I usually cheat and use a bread maker) and I was surprised at how easy this was. Hopefully she will post the recipe soon, but if you request it she will likely send it your way! Served alongside a simple salad of butter lettuce and arugula (both locally grown and gotten from the Mattapan Food and Fitness Coalition’s market!) An excellent way to round out the meal.

IMG_4616

IMG_4617

Our night was perfected with classic apple pie. We used recipes from Whole Foods for both the whole wheat pie crust as well as the apple filling, and both were delicious! We are enjoying sugar again, but still both found this filling a little too sweet. We are convinced that a sugar-free apple pie would be just as good, especially after the great single serve apple crisp results! I feel some experimenting might be happening in our future…

IMG_4620

Question: What is your “therapy”?

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

WIAW While Recovering Blog Action Day 2011 – What does food mean to your culture?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. frugalfeeding  |  October 14, 2011 at 9:02 am

    Slow food is always the best sort of food. I have a beef hotpot on my stove as I type. I can’t wait to eat it. Rustic, slow food is exactly what I’m about.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  October 17, 2011 at 8:46 am

      Sounds wonderful! I’m excited that it is fully settling into soup weather here :)

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 14, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Isn’t it funny how quickly you lose your sweet tooth? Thanks for the shout out. But I do like the idea of cauliflower. Katherine hates it, so sneaking it in soup might work.

    Reply
  • 5. goingsteadyblog  |  October 17, 2011 at 8:29 am

    All your dishes look wonderful!

    Reply
  • 7. Living, Learning, Eating  |  December 3, 2011 at 9:14 am

    I just found this post – I’m glad you liked the bread! I made the recipe myself, through experimentation, so that makes me realllllllllllll happy! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


