WIAW With a Poem

January 25, 2012 at 6:42 am 11 comments

Happy Wednesday! My week has flown by, since a good chunk of Monday was spent in the ER with my roommate (who knew washing dishes could be so dangerous?! 4 stitches and 4 hours later, she was fine!) and Tuesday catching up with school. I ate – nothing too exciting, but I still enjoyed every bite, I ran, I studied, I did yoga. A peek into my eats:

WIAW

Breakfast: oatmeal cooked in water and almond milk, with pumpkin butter, raisins, cinnamon and sunflower seed butter. Morning workout: 4.5 mi run. Lunch: Pan-fried polenta, steamed Swiss chard, and black beans, topped with nutritional yeast and salsa. Dinner: Oven-roasted snap peas, pita chips, and Sriracha swirled hummus. Evening workout: 1 hr power yoga class. Pre- and post- yoga snacks: Trail mix with peanut butter filled pretzels, raisins, granola, and peanuts; a rehydrating orange and chamomile tea.

WIAW logo

The focus of this post, however, is not about me or my day. I recently received a copy of the book of poetry, Jump, written and published by the girl that I mentored in college. Even though we are no longer formerly involved in the mentorship program, we still meet up from time to time to catch up on life, her college applications, and hopes and dreams for the future. I could go on and on about how amazing she is, but I think her poetry speaks for itself. If you are interested, she has copies of her book for sale for $10 – email me (homemadeadventure@gmail.com) for information about how to purchase one!

I wanted to share this poem because I think it is particularly applicable to the healthy living community. Often, healthy diets and vanity are confused. A strong motivation for what we put on our plates is purely motivated by trying to fit into a certain pair of pants or meet certain expectations. While vanity can kickstart our motivation for healthy living, it cannot stop there. If we are never satisfied with our weight or our shape, then we are not healthy. Being healthy is more than just being thin: it is about self-acceptance and loving the body you have been given, no matter the number that is written on your pants tag says. My favorite seventeen year old articulates this much better than I ever could, so I will share her words.

The Marshall’s Fitting Room

from Jump, by Yolandi Cruz

Sorry I’m late

I just came back from the most wonderful date with myself

It was love at first sight

In a Marshall’s fitting room with dancing chandeliers,

flying monkeys and a pair of frozen cacti

For the first time in my life I had butterflies in my stomach

like we were meant to be

I stood there

Naked

Admiring the most beautiful landscape.

I had never seen me before

I’m not an architect but her body

was full of diverse composition

Every line falling perfectly into the subway of the city

Her breast lying loosely from her chest like

wet spaghetti waiting to be dried

Her eyelashes, spring-wet grass being pushed by the wind

Eyes yelling out Help Me!

Help me crawl out of fire I’ve started

My body is aching from the

infinite, constant, darkness I’ve been living in.

Even her insecurities made me fall for her

I was in love

Me: had the most royal name

I am a queen

Me: had the most beautiful smile

I am beauty

Me: had the most soft lips

I am tenderness

She was perfect.

She traced the stretch marks around her body like a map

Contemplating the useless times, she stressed over them

They have become more visible than they should be

She has been through bumpy roads

These yellow street lines symbolize

People physically and mentally abusing her

But she is her worst enemy

No one has hurt her more than herself

I had never met anyone like me

She was beautifully scary

Her reflection a fountain of jewels

erupting from a volcano

Her smile a rain shower of treasures

leaping from hidden chambers

The four walls in my room have trapped me

from seeing her

The PacSun skinny jeans that will never fit me

The Seventeen Magazine girls with no blemish

The various corsets my family has bought me

I stood in that fitting room for an hour

Forgave me for canceling our dates in the past

For telling her I would call but never finding

the courage to dial her number

For ignoring her

After our date

I promised me that would be

here,

there,

later,

now,

forever

I promised me to let go of people who are mistreating her

I would always remind me that I am not beautiful

But that I am beauty itself

After all you don’t meet your soulmate everyday.


Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , .

Vegan Entertaining Lentil “Meat” Sauce

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  January 25, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Wow! This is really good.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  January 25, 2012 at 11:37 pm

      I know, right?! Her poetry has so much insight! I’ll show you her book when you come visit.

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 25, 2012 at 11:39 am

    What a nice message and how nice you two still keep in touch.

    Reply
  • 4. JensMom  |  January 25, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    What a beautiful poem and such a great reminder to us all that our beauty is internal and that the scars we all bear are really only visible to ourselves. Such words of wisdom from someone so young. So happy that you have been able to see this young girl grow from a child into such a beautiful young lady. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  • 5. Laura  |  January 25, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    She wrote this at 17?! That’s awesome… I hope she can spread her message wide. Beautiful words and wisdom. I’m admiring your food photos, too… I have limited photo skills! Visiting from wiaw!

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  January 25, 2012 at 11:38 pm

      Her poems are so moving and have so much depth for a teenager! She wants to pursue writing in college, so I know she will do great things with spreading her message. Thanks for the compliment, I am doing my best to improve!

      Reply
  • 7. sara @my less serious life  |  January 26, 2012 at 9:49 am

    what a great poem! really. thanks for sharing this with us.

    so a note about your pan friend polenta. i am currently obsessed with the stuff — okay okay i only made it once, but i want to make it again! but, am a little timid with preparation techniques. any advice on the topic?

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  January 26, 2012 at 9:44 pm

      I am a polenta cheater: I buy the premade logs from Trader Joes, and then slice them. They are good in the oven topped with veggies (see my Mediterranean Haystacks!) or the way I enjoyed them this day was lightly pan fried in a little bit of Earth Balance and sprinkled with nutritional yeast. If I ever figure out how to make my own polenta logs, I’ll let you know!

      Reply
  • 9. Living, Learning, Eating  |  January 26, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Wow! And yum. :)

    Also, BIG QUESTION! I want to move off campus, since you have to have a full (expensive, not tasty or convenient) meal plan if you live on campus *but* I want to stay as close to campus as possible, since it’s not that I want to get away from campus, just the meal plan. :P I also would love to keep monthly rent under $1000. I see you live in an apartment in the Cambridge/Boston area, so how do you do it?! Any advice? Even studios all seem to be upwards of 2000! I’d love an email, if you get the chance. :) livinglearningeating@googlemail.com

    Reply
  • 10. Regina  |  January 27, 2012 at 9:22 am

    can i outsource the babys’ eating to you?? please!!!

    Reply
    • 11. homemadeadventure  |  January 27, 2012 at 9:57 am

      Ha! Are you hiring me as the baby’s cook or asking me to take on your late night hunger? ;)

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other subscribers

Memberships