Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

December 19, 2011 at 8:00 pm 2 comments

IMG_5036
While I love my family’s traditional Christmas cookies, biscotti might be my favorite cookie of all time. I love getting a big mug of coffee and a biscotti when I am studying at a coffee shop, but have always struggled to make them on my own. With some pistachios and cranberries lying around the house, however, I knew I had to give it one more shot. I am so glad I did, because these came out perfectly!

IMG_5037
I found this recipe on Joy of Baking and followed it exactly, so head over there to make these biscotti. The dough has the perfect hint of sweetness to it, and I love pistachio in biscotti for a great crunch. I was worried because the initial cookie log is quite sticky and hard to form, but everything worked out perfectly. The trick to good biscotti is cutting the individual cookies at an angle, and baking them at a low temperature for a long time. They are time intensive, but not hard, so give these a try! The cranberries make them a festive addition to your cookie jar, but they would be great anytime throughout the winter.

IMG_5043

If you are looking for other great biscotti recipes, here are some other cookies I have been drooling over. These Gingerbread Biscotti from Rufus’s Guide would make a great holiday treat, as would these Triple Ginger Biscotti from Eat, Live, Run. If you are a vegan, check out these Eggnog Biscotti from Oh She Glows. The Orange Biscotti, also from Rufus’s Guide would be great to make anytime this winter with Florida citrus in season! There are so many great twists to this classic cookie, so give one a try and tell me how it turns out! If I can bake them, then anyone can ;)

Question: What is your favorite treat to enjoy with a cup of coffee?

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

From Grandma’s Cookbook Family Traditions

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  December 19, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    Wow, those cookies look great. Thanks for including me, twice, in your roundup. Too kind!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  December 19, 2011 at 9:16 pm

      No problem! Looking forward to trying those recipes out now that I have successfully made a batch of biscotti :)

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other subscribers

Memberships