Life Certainly is an Adventure

April 8, 2014 at 3:35 pm 3 comments

To say that I have had a busy winter would be an understatement. Since August, pretty much every life changing event (in good ways) imaginable seemed to fall into one year. I got engaged in August and began planning an early spring wedding. I also started to freshen up my resume and write a personal statement in preparation for residency applications. I spent the fall traveling around the East Coast, analyzing program details and getting a “gut feeling” about where I would spend my next 3 years of training. During this time, my sister wrote a few posts to fill in the gaps. I thought things would slow down after the holidays, when I planned to go back to my normal life of medical school and wedding planning. However, in mid-January, the third floor of my house caught fire, forcing me to abruptly move out of my home of 3 1/2 years. Luckily, no one was injured and I lost few physical possessions. However, I also lost my “comfort zone,” my own kitchen. I spent the next two months living with two dear (and gracious) friends while finishing medical school and wedding planning. From January until March, it felt like all of my normal comforts had been stripped away and that God was asking me to trust solely in him.

match

Relieved to know where we are moving!

Finally, in March, plans seemed to begin to fall into place. First, I finished my final rotation in medical school. Then, I matched into one of my top choice programs to begin a Family Medicine Residency in the fall.

married

The husband and I at our rehearsal dinner the night before our wedding

On March 29, I married a man who inspires me to continue to learn and to grow.

honeymoon

The view from our breakfast spot in Antigua

Yesterday, we returned from our honeymoon, relaxed and ready to start a new adventure.

From now until June, I have some time to reflect and recover from this crazy year. I plan to make up for all of the cooking and the writing that life has pushed aside, and hope to share some recipes and reflections along the way. It feels good to be back :)

Question: What is one surprise life has brought your way this year?

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

Thinking of Thanksgiving Cooking for my Husband

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. twoblackdoggies  |  April 9, 2014 at 2:51 am

    Congratulations! May you have along and happy life together :-)

    Reply
  • 2. mcsgal  |  April 9, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    Congratulations on both the wedding and the match. Good luck with your new adventures.

    Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  April 13, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    Congrats on the wedding. Sorry to hear about the house, but glad you’re back to blogging and doing well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


