Simple, Healthy, Delicious

June 19, 2013 at 7:42 pm 12 comments

If you haven’t noticed, I am rather passionate about those three words in the title. Food should be simple, healthy, and delicious. Simply put. I often feel like a broken record, but there are times where even I forget that. When life gets busy, take-out seems easier. Healthy seems to fall by the wayside. Delicious seems like a luxury.

I have been doing lots of reading and research for school about talking with and educating patients about nutrition and developing healthy lifestyle habits. It is remarkable how ineffective we as a medical community have been at focusing on prevention of chronic disease! As I read more about the “standard American diet,” often pithily labeled the “SAD” diet, I think that the lack of nutrition in the average diet can’t all be related to lack of access or knowledge. I often think that healthy eating, generally, feels the opposite of the things above. Prepping fruits and vegetables does not feel simple. It is time-consuming and takes planning and thought. Kale also isn’t always the most appetizing, even for the biggest veggie enthusiast. So… how do we find a way to unify these words again?

IMG_0642

Take some short cuts every once in a while! I recently discovered the pre-cut items at Trader Joe’s and have instantly fallen in love. (I know, I catch on slowly.) Broccoli slaw, spinach, kale… you name it! Cut, washed and ready to go, there isn’t an easier way to get greens on your dinner plate! While the bag of kale will be marked up compared to a bunch of it, the time savings is often worth it. So that takes care of the simple, now what about the healthy? Trader Joe’s (and Costco!) also have a great line of flavorful chicken sausages that add tons of interest to any simple meal! I really like the Chipotle Mango Chicken sausage, but my favorite is the Spinach and Red Pepper Chicken sausage (from Costco). There is so much flavor packed into each bite of these sausages that a lot of the work in finishing off your delicious meal is done for you! Try out the recipe below- packed with protein, fiber, and flavor, there is no better quick fix to get greens on your weeknight dinner table!

Are you as convinced as I am that food should meet all of those three criteria? Then share with me your tips and tricks for making healthy eating simple and delicious!

IMG_0640

Chicken Sausage, Kale and Quinoa Salad

serves 4-6

1/2 white onion, diced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes, diced

1 cup quinoa

1 cup low sodium vegetable broth (or chicken)

1 cup water

1 tbsp white wine vinegar

1 package pre-cut kale

5 Roasted Red Pepper and Spinach Chicken sausage links

Parmesan cheese, to serve

In a medium saucepan, saute garlic and onion in the olive oil for 3-4 minutes or until soft. Add the sun-dried tomatoes and stir for 1 minute. Add the quinoa, then stir for about 3 minutes or until the quinoa is well toasted. Add the water, broth, and vinegar. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer until the quinoa is cooked and most of the liquid has been absorbed. Meanwhile, steam the kale until just before it is soft. (I microwaved it with a bit of water for 3 minutes). Also cook the chicken sausage links in a frying or grill pan until crispy on the outside and heated through. Slice the chicken sausage links into bite-sized rounds. Stir together the quinoa, cooked kale and chicken sausage until well-combined. Serve with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Salad Weather Sister Sister

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. weight loss  |  July 18, 2014 at 1:23 am

    It actually was an amusement account it.

    Reply
  • 2. cohortapp.com  |  July 23, 2014 at 9:20 am

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web page, for the reason that i wish for enjoyment, for the
    reason that this this web site conations actually pleasant funny information too.

    Reply
  • 3. Johna779  |  July 28, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    I do agree with all the ideas you have introduced for your post. They are really convincing and can certainly work. Still, the posts are very brief for newbies. May you please extend them a bit from subsequent time? Thank you for the post. dcbfdddddkdd

    Reply
  • 4. http://tnahec.Com  |  August 6, 2014 at 4:15 am

    Great web site. A lot of helpful information here.
    I’m sending it to several buddies ans additionally
    sharing in delicious. And obviously, thank you in your effort!

    Reply
  • 5. ancient Greek food Recipes  |  August 9, 2014 at 7:33 am

    You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find
    this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post,
    I will try to get the hang of it!

    Reply
  • 6. Rick Stein Food Heroes Recipes  |  August 9, 2014 at 11:46 am

    Very good blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little
    lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many options out there
    that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any suggestions? Bless you!

    Reply
  • 7. diet food Recipes for weight loss  |  August 13, 2014 at 4:00 am

    Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and
    look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

    Reply
  • 8. kosher food recipes  |  August 16, 2014 at 11:02 pm

    Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website
    before but after going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I stumbled upon it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back frequently!

    Reply
  • 9. Healthy food guide  |  August 27, 2014 at 12:48 am

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I
    hope you write again very soon!

    Reply
  • 10. online fitness coach  |  September 6, 2014 at 1:13 pm

    Hi to every one, the contents existing at this
    web site are truly remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep
    up the good work fellows.

    Reply
  • 11. fitness routine for six pack abs  |  September 25, 2014 at 2:17 am

    Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to determine if its a
    problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply
  • 12. learn yoga  |  February 19, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    I couldn’t resist commenting. Very well written!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


