Fusion Food

April 27, 2013 at 7:00 am 4 comments

Everywhere I look lately, there are tacos. Really fun and interesting looking tacos. Like these and these and these. I even made my own! I would venture a guess that tacos are one of the trendy foods this season, and I am loving it! Bright colored veggies packed with flavor on a warm corn tortilla is totally my idea of fun backyard summer food! More so, I love the ideas that are breaking tacos out of the box. These recipes are certainly more creative than my memories of family taco nights, and are sure to liven up your dinner table!

IMG_0268


These tacos are a fusion of cooking influences in my life right now. My boyfriend, who is Korean, has been teaching me some basics about Korean cooking, and I have learned how to make some simpler traditional dishes like kimchi jjigae and ssam jang. Learning this new style of cooking, and having a fridge full of new-to-me condiments, has started to spark my creativity and put ideas in my head of how to combine our food heritages. Thus, after a weekend of Korean cooking and a brief glance through the most recent Cooking Light magazine my mom lent me, the idea for these tacos were born! Korean pulled pork, a simple ginger cucumber, and a great scallion slaw, and it worked! The meat is tender and flavorful, with rich and complex notes upfront and a slow spice that follows. The cucumbers and carrots are crisp and refreshing, and the scallions nicely finish off the taco.

IMG_0261

Some notes on the recipe: First, you might be scratching your head about the pork. Isn’t she a vegetarian? Well, recently, I have slowly started to add meat back to my diet. (My decision was made mostly for personal health reasons that I won’t fully discuss here.) I am still eating vegetarian meals 80% of the week, but am making a conscious effort to make a meal that includes meat at least once a week. After 5-ish years of vegetarian cooking, this has required a little more planning and experimentation than I expected! Also, don’t be intimidated by the super long ingredient list that follows– most of it is for the meat marinade and is pantry-based. The only “specialty items” are the Hoisin sauce, which can be found in most major supermarkets, and the gochujang. That might be a little harder to find, unless you have an Asian food market in your area. It is essentially a red pepper paste that adds a slow, sweet spice to your meat. If you can’t find it or don’t love spice, replace it with ketchup. Lastly, make sure that you take the time to toast your tortillas! A warm corn tortilla is much more pliable and tastes better, really giving the finishing touch to this dish!

Question: How do you feel about the changes on my blog? Over the past two years, this blog has been an outlet to record and share what I have been making and the things that excite me. I realize that I have many vegan/vegetarian readers, but feel that it is important for me to share how I have been eating! Like I said, most of my meals will still be largely vegetarian, but I hope to reflect the new styles of cooking I am learning to incorporate as well. I hope you will continue as I adventure in cooking and healthy living!

IMG_0262


Korean Pulled Pork Tacos with Sesame Ginger Cucumbers, Carrots and Scallions

inspiration for the meat from here and the cucumbers from here, serves 4-6

12 corn tortillas

pulled pork:

2 lb pork (shoulder, butt or loin all work well)

1-inch piece ginger, minced

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 tbsp Hoisin sauce

1/3 cup soy sauce

2 tbsp sesame seed oil

3 tbsp gochujang paste (or ketchup)

3 tbsp rice vinegar

2 tbsp honey

2 star of anise

1/4 tsp fennel seed

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp black pepper

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker. Set to low and cook for 7-8 hours. Pull meat apart using two forks to create pulled pork. Mix desired amount of residual sauce into meat.

cukes and carrots:

4 medium pickling cucumbers, julienned

3 carrots, julienned

2 clove garlic, minced

2-inch piece ginger, minced

4 tbsp rice vinegar

4 tsp sugar

2 tsp sesame seed oil

Combine the matchstick-sized cucumbers and carrots with the marinade ingredients. Shake and then refrigerate, covered, for at least one hour.

scallions:

2 bunch scallions (greens only), julienned

1.5 tbsp sesame seed oil

3 tbsp rice vinegar

1.5 tbsp red chili flakes

Cut the scallion greens into 2-inch chunks, then julienne into thin strips. Combine with remaining ingredients and refrigerate for at least one hour.

to assemble:

Warm a corn tortilla in a skillet or griddle. Layer cucumbers, carrots, scallions and pulled pork. Fold and enjoy warm!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Still Soup Weather! Homemade Smoker

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hipfoodiemom  |  April 27, 2013 at 10:11 am

    Hi there! I’m so glad to see my recipe inspired you! These tacos look great and I love the addition of the cucumbers! I hope you and your boyfriend continue to cook up Korean food together! Take care!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  April 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm

      Thank you for the inspiration! I made your pork the original way and loved it as well!

      Reply
  • 3. jessiebearwhat  |  May 1, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    oh my lord, these look delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


