A Boston Girl, A Runner

April 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm 5 comments

Several minutes after the explosions at the Boston Marathon, I got a phone call from a friend, “Did you hear anything about bombs at the Marathon?” I hadn’t, and immediately hopped on Google. Luckily, I was home studying and doing laundry, happy to have an unexpected day off from my clerkship. Soon after, texts and calls started pouring in from everyone I knew– “ARE YOU OK?” Finally, I put up the obligatory Facebook post letting everyone know I was safe. I heard from friends who were running and cheering, relieved to find out that everyone was physically unharmed.

IMG_0247

View from my favorite running route along the Boston Harborwalk

The city that I have loved and grown to call home over the past 7 years has had one tough week. From the tragic bombings on Monday to the epic police chase that shut down the entire metropolitan area on Friday, I think we are all ready for a return to normalcy. I am particularly grateful that this is abnormal for my city, with places like Syria and the constant threat of suicide bombs on the forefront of my mind. My heart mourns for the families who lost loved ones and for those who were injured. However, this week cannot come to a close without a time of reflection. I remember the many years I spent cheering on runners- roommates, friends and strangers alike- from various spots along Beacon Street to behind the finish line as a volunteer. I am thankful for the spirit of the event that causes every spectator to catch the running bug, even if just for a day. I am thankful for the city that has taught me so much, and for the streets that have made me a runner. I am proud to call myself a Boston girl, and a runner.

IMG_0220

With that being said, I cannot end this reflective post without sharing my current running struggles. After taking the winter off with a knee injury (and a lot of snow and ice), I am officially back in my sneakers and on some of my favorite routes. Except now every block is a challenge, every mile is an accomplishment. My pride is crushed when I see mile splits that are whole minutes slower than last fall. THIS IS HARD. It is like I am starting over, and I am struggling. However, I will not be defeated. I am signed up for a half-marathon with friends in May. Will I be ready? Maybe, maybe not. 4 miles today was a feat. But I will try. Whether I am running 1.4 or 4 or 14 miles, at least I am out there and I am trying. #runforboston

Question: What are your reflections on the past week’s events?

Entry filed under: Running. Tags: , , , , .

Spring Cleaning Granola Still Soup Weather!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  April 21, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Glad to hear you’re safe and back running again.

    Reply
  • 3. spaceofmyown  |  April 22, 2013 at 2:37 am

    I´m glad that you´re back in training shoes ! Well done and keep it up :)
    Last weekend my daughter an I was in awe as we saw 11 policeofficers at our corenr….We live in a suburb to Malmö, Sweden, and obviously that is something we don´t get to see very often. Stood by the window wondering what had happened when my daughter said -“This is a good place to live, mum. If this is something we look at as a rare event, I think”
    Thinking of this world where children are brought up with the sounds of war.

    Can´t imagine what I would feel ……

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  April 22, 2013 at 6:04 am

      Children always have such great perspective, thanks so much for sharing!

      Reply
  • 5. A Boston Girl, A Runner | spaceofmyown  |  April 22, 2013 at 2:58 am

    […] A Boston Girl, A Runner. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


