Stuffed Delicata Squash

October 25, 2012 at 7:00 am 5 comments

Recipes come to you in the strangest and most inappropriate of places… the shower, during exams, during church… However, after a long time of feeling stuck in a rut in the kitchen, I was thankful for some new ideas this weekend! When I first started receiving my Boston Organics box, I would often have no clue what to do with some of the vegetables. Collard greens, kale, delicata squash? I had never seen some of these things! In fact, my lack of random veggie knowledge is what introduced me to the blog world. However, this is my third fall receiving the box, so few veggies take me by surprise anymore. This has led to me repeating recipes (not always a bad thing) and feeling rather un-creative in the kitchen. Lately, I have started playing with new spices and flavor profiles instead of new veggies to keep my meals interesting! And thus, this recipe was born.

IMG_5955

I originally wanted to use peas to mimic an Indian rice dish that a friend of mine makes, but none were to be found in my freezer. I saw, instead, a half of a zucchini leftover from another dish that was just begging to be finished. Summer and fall squash does not make for the most seasonal of combinations, so replace as you wish with peas or some other green veggie! The candied ginger is homemade and adds a great sweetness, and together with the cranberries play off well from the spicy garam masala. The Indian flare takes this out of my comfort zone, from more typical Italian and American herbs to a more exotic (to me) flavor profile. A sprinkle or two of goat cheese would also be welcomed if you aren’t looking to keep this vegan! This recipe invites playfulness, so try it the next time you are looking for some kitchen fun!

IMG_5952

Stuffed Delicata Squash

serves 4

2 medium delicata squash (about 1 lb)

1/2 cup quinoa, cooked

1 cup zucchini, shredded

1 tbsp candied ginger, minced

2 tbsp dried cranberries

1/2 cup chickpeas

1 tbsp garam masala

pinch salt to taste

Cook quinoa according to package instructions. Mix with shredded zucchini, ginger, cranberries, chickpeas and garam masala. Adjust salt to taste. Split delicate squash in half lengthwise. Scrape out the seeds and stringy insides with a spoon. (You can save the seeds to roast like pumpkin seeds, but there is a lot of string to pick through). Fill each squash with several spoonfuls of the quinoa mixture. Add a few tablespoons of water to the bottom of the dish and cover. Bake in a 350F oven, covered, for 20 minutes, then uncover and bake for 10 minutes or until the squash is fork tender. Serve as a main dish with a side salad or as a side for a special meal! (Note: the delicata squash has a “delicate” skin that can be eaten!)

IMG_5956

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

It’s Fall Y’all: Ginger It’s Fall Y’all: Oats

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Long Life Cats and Dogs  |  October 25, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Looks delicious but I have no idea what quinoa is ;)

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  October 26, 2012 at 5:45 am

      Quinoa is a whole grain that is also a perfect protein. It has a nutty flavor and a texture similar to a chewy cous cous. I think it is a great substitute for cous cous or rice in many dishes, and has the bonus of added staying power! You can find it in most grocery stores :)

      Reply
      • 3. Long Life Cats and Dogs  |  October 27, 2012 at 3:30 am

        Sounds yummy. I’ll keep a lookout in the shops but still not sure we get it here in South Africa. Might well be wrong though. I’m no cook (kitchens are for coffee and milk!). Maybe hubby would know :)

        Reply
  • 4. Jen's Mom  |  October 25, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Looks awesome, I have everything but the candied ginger so I am going to give it a whirl and see what happens! I love stuffed squash. And the fall colors in the delicata squash are so much fun.

    Reply
  • 5. Cooking with Kohlrabi « homemadeadventure  |  November 1, 2012 at 7:02 am

    […] spoke too soon! I may have mentioned that I rarely receive excited unknown veggies anymore in my Boston Organics box… well, the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


