It’s Fall Y’all: Ginger

October 21, 2012 at 4:00 pm 6 comments

Ginger might not be the first thing that jumps to mind when you think of fall, but in reality is one of the unsung heroes of this culinary season. That might sound a bit extreme, but bear with me. What makes the pumpkin in pie sing? Ginger. A really great apple or pear crisp? Ginger. Breads, cookies, pies, and fruit crisps all rely on cozy spices to make them truly come to life. Ginger happens to be one of my favorite flavors, but can be a bit aggressive and divisive. If you love strong ginger flavors, then this post is for you.

IMG_5904

First attempt at homemade candied ginger

It all started out with the goal of making homemade candied ginger. I love the store-bought version, but it is expensive and very sugary. I set out to make my own and, thanks to Pinterest, found this great recipe and tutorial. The cashier at my grocery store looked at me funny when I walked away with a rather large ginger knob tree, but I was determined to accomplish my goal! The result – decent. Honestly, not as great as the store-bought version, but also could be cook’s error. My syrup over-boiled, dried out, and likely didn’t cook for quite long enough. The candied ginger is tasty, but not a solely edible treat like its store-bought counterpart. The resulting ginger syrup, however, is delectable. I cannot get enough!

IMG_5906

The resultant ginger syrup

Here are some ideas of what I have been doing with my ginger creations!

IMG_5908

Homemade Ginger Ale: Mix a few spoonfuls of the syrup with seltzer water for a tasty homemade soda!

IMG_5941

Adult Ginger Ale: Add a shot of whiskey to the above for an adult version. (Or a shot of rum and a squeeze of lime, with a little heavier hand on the ginger syrup, for my favorite– the Dark and Stormy!)

IMG_5960

Honey Ginger Butter: Mix 1/4 cup of ginger syrup, 1 tbsp honey, and 1 stick softened butter. Whip with an immersion blender, and then refrigerate in a small container until solid. Goes great with pancakes, waffles or this amazing Honey Whole Wheat Pumpkin Bread!

IMG_5947

Coconut Ginger Granola: Maybe the best granola I have ever made… seriously. I made a few changes, like using butter instead of coconut oil and adding a dash of ginger syrup and it is DELICIOUS! You should definitely try this.

IMG_5955

Stuffed Delicata Squash: In danger of recipe overload, I am going to tease you with these pictures and post the recipe later in the week! Definitely stop back– you don’t want to miss this one!

In case that isn’t enough for you, here are some ginger recipes I tried out last year…

Gingersnap Oatmeal

Gingerbread Oatmeal

Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle

Gingerbread Cookies

…and some I have my eye on!

Ginger Sangria

Gingersnap Martini

Ginger Cookies

Question: Are you a ginger fan?

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

It’s Fall Y’all: Apple Stuffed Delicata Squash

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Scrambled Megs  |  October 21, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    I am going to try this for sure. I find candied ginger SO addictive and tasty!

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 21, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    I’m off to see about that martini. Great roundup. I’m enjoying the fall y’all series.

    Reply
  • 3. Ray Cat Lady  |  October 22, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    I absolutely love ginger. I can’t wait to try a homemade adult ginger ale. Here in Utah, we have an excellent whiskey (don’t laugh – it seriously is a great whiskey from Utah!) called High West that would just go perfectly with that. Mmmm.

    Reply
  • 4. It’s Fall Y’all: Oats « homemadeadventure  |  October 28, 2012 at 7:12 am

    […] I said last week, this Coconut Ginger Granola is possibly my new favorite treat! I used Smart Balance butter instead […]

    Reply
  • 5. Stefanie  |  November 2, 2012 at 12:10 am

    I hope you get a chance to try the ginger cookies! :) And you’ve made some awesome stuff with your ginger syrup! I must say, i’ve never thought to try to make my own candied ginger. What a wonderful idea and it looks delish!!

    Reply
  • 6. It’s Fall Y’all: Foliage « homemadeadventure  |  November 10, 2012 at 8:32 am

    […] Ginger […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


