Hidden Greens Frittata and a Give-away

July 31, 2012 at 9:00 am 7 comments

Every once in a while, I get a bunch of unidentified green stuff in my Boston Organics box. I’d like to think I’m better than the average gal at green identification, but there are still occasions when I can’t quite distinguish certain species of kale from chard from random leafy greens. Last week was one of those weeks – I got a bunch of what looked like a mix between kale and Swiss chard in my box. Not sure exactly what the flavor of the greens would be, I decided to make a frittata out of them! I have posted several frittata recipes before and generally follow the same framework. For those of you who are new to this recipe, a frittata is essentially a fancy, fluffy baked omelette that is much simpler to make than its name implies. I use onions and garlic for a flavor base and 8 eggs with a splash of milk, salt and pepper for the fluffy egg center. To change the profile of the frittata, I simply switch up the veggies and cheese that I use. Goat cheese is my favorite because it is soft and melty in a freshly warmed frittata. To further switch things up, I splashed a bit of Balsamic vinegar over the greens as well. The result was a satisfying, fluffy egg dish bursting with green stuff. Who needs to know exactly what greens you are eating when it tastes this good?

IMG_5761

Ever find that most recipes with goat cheese call for an ounce measurement instead of a tablespoon or cup portion? You’d need a scale to do that… so here is your chance to win one!

scale

Sue from SlimKicker.com contacted me about hosting a give away so that one of you has a chance to win this amazing kitchen scale! SlimKicker.com is a calorie counter and healthy lifestyle app that turns your diet and fitness goals into a game-style challenge, complete with points and rewards. You simply track calories and your healthy food choices, as well as complete healthy challenges, to rack up points. Once you reach a certain point level, you are reminded to reward yourself with something like a “cheat food” or new fitness gear. The tracking system and supportive community are great motivation to stay on track with your fitness goals! I definitely found this type of support essential during my Game On challenge!

This is where you come in – SlimKicker.com is in need of some new ideas for healthy living challenges. To enter this give away, simply leave a 1-2 sentence comment with your idea for a fun and creative healthy living challenge. They can be anything from drinking 8×8 glasses of water a day, to getting 30 minutes of exercise per day, to learning to snack wisely between meals. The best idea will be chosen and featured as part of the SlimKicker challenges, and will receive the kitchen scale! The contest is open for one week, so leave your comment by Tuesday, August 7 at 9am to enter. One comment per reader, please, and prizes can only be shipped within the US. Looking forward to seeing the ideas that you come up with!

IMG_5759

Hidden Greens Frittata

serves 4-6

1 sweet Vidalia onion, chopped

1 bunch greens, roughly chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

dash garlic powder, parsley, salt

2 tbsp Balsamic vinegar

8 eggs

1/2 cup milk

2 oz goat cheese

Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350F. Saute the onion in the olive oil until soft, about 5 minutes. Add chopped greens and saute until slightly wilted. Add Balsamic vinegar and allow liquid to reduce slightly. In a separate bowl, mix eggs, milk and spices. Pour over the greens and stir slightly to distribute. Allow to cook over medium heat for 4-5 minutes. Transfer heat-safe saute pan to the oven and continue to cook for about 15 minutes. Crumble goat cheese over the top and return to oven for 5 more minutes or until edges are browned and center is set. Immediately sprinkle with shaved Parmesan cheese, if desired. Cut into 4-6 wedges and serve warm.

Entry filed under: Random, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Smarter than Your Average Monkey A Second Challenge

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maddie  |  July 31, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    A good challenge to do is to have at least 1 home cooked meal a day (bringing in your own lunch counts too). Eating out is bad for the waistline!

    Reply
  • 2. marie  |  August 1, 2012 at 6:46 pm

    My current favorite is pushups before bed! Do as many as you can, and repeat that number for a week. The next week, add a second set, with 50% of the repetitions you did.

    If week 1 = 10 pushups , week 2 will be 10 pushups followed by rest and 5 more pushups. Continue adding an additional repetition of 5 each week for a month. It only takes a minute or two, and strengthens your entire body, including your mind :)

    Reply
  • 3. Misty  |  August 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm

    Our family is going gluten and dairy free, due to hubby’s digestive issues and my nursing a baby who appears to have a dairy issue.
    I need to get creative and start making lots of things from scratch. Glad to have found your site.
    We are also going to be getting more involved in family fitness, after all, family time is bonding time.

    Reply
  • 4. Samantha Fernandes  |  August 4, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Like Jen, I am a med student. Unlike Jen, I am more or less new to Boston/the East Coast (having moved from California 2yrs ago). I’ve found that my schedule is wild and often I get home too hungry to have the patience to cook a good meal. I’ve also found that my fresh produce spoils in the East Coast humidity and even in the winters.

    My solution: I make a stir fry of veggies (zucchinis, mushrooms, asparagus, carrots…whatever I have on hand) and store it in the fridge. It is actually good up to 10ish days. That’s an inaccurate study but abt a wk and a half old is what I am willing to eat. And I toss the veggies into an omelette with some feta or goat cheese and it’s an easy peasy meal to make + healthy + quick! I’ve also used the veggies alongside steaks and in pastas and they work just as well altho the ommies are my fave :)

    Reply
    • 5. Samantha Fernandes  |  August 4, 2012 at 7:53 am

      PS draining the liquid from the stir fry veggies everyday makes them last longer and they are less soggy when you reheat them!

      Reply
  • 6. Kay Slavin  |  August 4, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Do what you love! Just because you don’t sweat as much or “feel the burn” after say walking vs. running doesn’t mean you didn’t get in a workout! Being mindful about distance, keeping your core engaged, etc. while doing what you love will make everything a workout!

    Jen, I also wanted to give you a little challenge. I’m headed to Kenya with my church & I’ll be teaching a seminar on nutrition. My co-leader will be helping to plant a garden with Chaya, Mustard Greens, Moringa Tree, Cucumber, Cranberry Hibiscus, Cauliflower, Beets, & Carrots. I’d like to leave 2-4 recipes that include all/some of the veggies. Here’s the challenge though: its a more rural area of Kenya & I’m not sure of their access to ovens & such. Any ideas for simple but delicious recipes?

    Reply
  • 7. Azra  |  August 6, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    How about the “to do list” challenge? Make a list of all those pesky things you have wanted to do for a while but never quite got around to — you know, like organizing your basement, or finally trying that complicated yet delicious-looking recipe. Try to accomplish at least one project per week. It is a great way to stay active and finally cross those items off your list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


