Smarter than Your Average Monkey

July 29, 2012 at 4:41 pm 4 comments

It has been humid this past week in Boston, and so I have been craving cold salads and anything frozen. Last summer, I made a heavenly frozen treat that I nick named “Monkey Bites.” When I got around to making them again this summer, I found a way to simplify and clean up the process.

Smart, you say, right? I’d like to say that I am always that on top of my game, but we all know that is not true. More often than not, I am prone to some pretty hilarious blonde moments. Take the time I walked into my grandparent’s glass door in Florida trying to look at the alligator in their lake. They were nice enough to tape a napkin to the door for the rest of the week so I knew my boundaries. In my defense, my grandma is a very clean lady…

When I am not walking into doors or saying silly things, I am at least coming up with creative kitchen ideas! The recipe is about the same: bananas, chocolate, and peanut butter. But the method is simplified and cleaned up with some handy grill skewers. First, cut the bananas into bite sized chunks. Then, thread a few onto a skewer and pop them into the freezer for an hour or two. When they are almost frozen, melt down some chocolate and peanut butter. This is much easier than creating a peanut butter layer on each individual banana piece but still gets you some chocolate and peanut butter-y goodness in every bite!

IMG_5754

Then, take the skewers, and rotate the banana pieces in the chocolate, using a spoon to make sure they get fully covered.

IMG_5756

Pop ’em back in the freezer for 20 minutes, then slide ’em off the sticks and keep in a Tupperware in the freezer! They make a good snack or small dessert bite, perfect for steamy summer days. Enjoy!

Question: Are you prone to blonde moments? Leave a comment telling your funniest silly story!

IMG_5757

Smarter than a Monkey Bite

3 medium bananas, very ripe, cut into chunks

3 standard chocolate bars of your choice

2 tbsp peanut butter

6 wooden skewers

Cut the banana into pieces. Slide, with space, onto skewers and freeze. Meanwhile, melt chocolate and peanut butter over a double boiler. Cover each banana piece with chocolate mixture. Freeze for 20 minutes on the skewers, and then remove to a storage container. See text of post for more detailed instructions.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Going, Going, Gone Bananas Hidden Greens Frittata and a Give-away

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Aimee  |  July 29, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    Hi Jen, this is my first comment. I love reading about how you manage medical school and your own health and wellness with such a busy schedule. I laughed when I read your story about walking into the door and just had to share a similar story. I took my 5 year old son to Florida (from Massachusetts) this weekend to visit my Dad. We were not there an hour when my son turned to go out onto the porch, banged head first into the sliding glass door and landed on his bottom. Once he got over the initial shock he started laughing. Fortunately both his head and the door are very strong!

    I definitely have my blonde (or perhaps more like grey nowadays) moments.

    I’m also a huge fan of chocolate and peanut butter. Looks like a fun recipe to make with kids.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  July 31, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      Thanks for sharing this story- I love it! This would definitely be a great kid-friendly kitchen activity… hope you have fun with it!

      Reply
  • 3. allaboutchantelle  |  July 30, 2012 at 7:01 am

    Now I am sat at work craving these, they look so tasty!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  July 31, 2012 at 3:47 pm

      I hope you get a chance to make them – they are pretty tasty!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


