Going, Going, Gone Bananas

July 23, 2012 at 5:56 pm 3 comments

Time is flying faster than I can keep track of! I feel like I just started my third year clerkships, yet I am already 1 week away from finishing my first rotation. The weeks have been busy, so I am backlogged on a few things that have been coming out of my kitchen lately. Like these to-go oatmeal muffins – they have been sitting on my camera almost as long as the bananas were sitting on my counter top. I have a short window of ripeness during which I enjoy bananas, and so I often end up making banana bread if my bunch ripens too fast. I wanted something more substantial for breakfast than my typical quick bread, however, so I tried making mini baked oatmeal muffins. (They aren’t exactly muffins since they are rather dense, but I am at a loss for what else to call them…) They turned out well first shot, so I have been enjoying them over the past week for breakfast! They are whole grain and filled with protein, and low in calories at about 150 calories per muffin. I have been taking two each morning, eating one before rounds and one during mid-morning to keep me going. (Anyone else have insatiable morning hunger problems? No? Just me?) They could also be a great afternoon snack, and are good cold or hot. Suits my oatmeal, peanut butter, and wholesome food craving all in one bite!

IMG_5748

Peanut Butter and Banana Oatmeal, To Go!

makes 10-12 muffins

2 cups rolled oats

2 medium bananas, overripe and mashed

2 cups milk of your choice

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

2 tbsp ground flax seed

2 tbsp agave nectar

2 tbsp vanilla extract

2 tsp baking powder

11 tsp peanut butter

Preheat oven to 375F. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except the peanut butter. Coat a muffin tray with cooking spray. Fill 10 muffin tins halfway with oatmeal mixture. Spoon in 1 tsp peanut butter to each muffin. Fill the tins the rest of the way with oatmeal. If there is leftovers, fill 1-2 more muffins in the same fashion. Bake for 25 minutes or until the edges are golden brown. Immediately upon removing from oven, take a knife to loosen the edges of the muffins. Allow to cool for several minutes and then remove to rack to cool completely. Enjoy one for a snack or two for an on the run breakfast.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

WIAW On the Wards Smarter than Your Average Monkey

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erraffety  |  July 25, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    I’m also ravenously hungry in the morning, and prefer the two breakfast grazing routine if I can. These look great; good to hear from you again!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  July 29, 2012 at 4:02 pm

      Thanks! I hope you get to try them now that you can bake some more!

      Reply
  • 3. Stefanie  |  August 21, 2012 at 5:31 pm

    Yummy! Delicious flavors in a breakfast cookie :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


