Back in the Kitchen

May 23, 2012 at 7:57 pm 2 comments

I did not have much time to cook during my intensive study period, outside of eggs and potatoes, simple salads, and stir fries. Needless to say, I missed my time in the kitchen and was anxious to get back! After a grocery shopping trip to Trader Joe’s and an impulse buy of soy chorizo, I started brainstorming a delicious dinner to make for my parents. I knew that sausage goes well with chard and white beans, so I figure soy sausage would make an equally great substitution! I Googled a few recipes, and then followed the bones of one I found on Washington Post. A few of the deviations I made from the original recipe were honestly on accident, like using the beet greens in addition to the chard. I honestly confused the two when I pulled them out of my mom’s fridge! I also used more wine than originally called for because the pan looked dry, but you could use more water if you don’t want to use up your dinner drinks!

IMG_5596

Served over potatoes, this made for a hearty and filling meal. The flavors are definitely reminiscent of Spain, and the soy chorizo is tastier than I anticipated! We didn’t tell my dad it was fake sausage, and he never even questioned it! This is a great plant-based recipe that pleases meat eaters alike, or could be made with real sausage to satisfy the carnivorous among us. It would also be great served with rice or quinoa if you don’t want potatoes as your starch.

IMG_5597

Take the opportunity to spend some time in the kitchen and make a nice meal – it feels good to be back cooking!

IMG_5598

Braised Chard with White Beans and Soy Chorizo

inspired by the Washington Post, serves 4

1 tbsp olive oil
1 large diced onion
8 oz soy chorizo, casings removed
1 tbsp tomato paste
1 small bunch beet greens, chopped, with stems diced
1 large bunch Rainbow chard, chopped, with stems diced
1 can cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup red wine

In a large saute pan with a lid, saute diced onions in olive oil. When onions are soft, add the diced colorful stems. Saute for 3-4 minutes. Stir in the tomato paste. Add the white beans and sausage and saute for 1-2 minutes. Add the chopped greens and wine, then cover and reduce heat. Cook for 15 minutes, until greens are wilted and most of the liquid has evaporated. Serve over boiled potatoes, rice or quinoa.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Lessons Learned Abs are Made in the Grocery Store

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chefconnie  |  May 23, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    OMG your picture… that dish…it makes me want to lick the screen! Yummy…

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  May 24, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    Welcome back. And a recipe with chorizo no less. Looks awesome.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


