Lessons Learned

May 21, 2012 at 11:00 am 7 comments

This past month has taught me a lot. Sure, I put in a lot of hours learning microbiology, physiology, pharmacology, pathology… but beyond the medical science, I also learned a lot about myself.

I learned that it is okay to realize you have worn nothing but leggings and yoga pants for 6 days straight when you sort your laundry.

I tested my attention span and sedentary capacity to their limits, and then broke up study blocks with jumping jacks and sit ups to stay awake and sane.

I realized how important it is to get out of the house each day, even if it is just for a quick one mile jog.

I learned how much I love to run.

I remembered how much I love to walk on days when I just can’t muster the energy to run.

IMG_5559

I appreciated just how much I learned in the past two years, and how much there is that I still don’t know.

The human body is an amazing machine.

I learned that it is okay to cry on a friend’s shoulder when you are overwhelmed and feel inadequate for the task at hand.

I was and am constantly reminded that God is faithful. Starting the day with a Psalm helped refocus my priorities on some really tough days.

I am amazed at the supportive and loving community that has surrounded me and carried me through to where I am now.

IMG_5561

I learned that colored pens make everything more fun.

I released my post-exam anxiety and jitters by recycling two years of notes and scrap paper.

IMG_5558

I learned how important home cooked meals are to me. I only ordered take out twice. And both times were worth it.

I survived by being okay with having breakfast for dinner. And lunch. And breakfast. Because what would life be without home fries and eggs?

I made more variations of home fries and eggs than I knew possible before this past month. Breakfast for dinner meals were great because they still gave me the break I desperately desired in the kitchen without any intensive prep or clean up. I never measured, so these are loose instructions for some of my favorite and unexpected combos rather than strict recipes.

IMG_5544

The first is a Turnip Hash that was inspired by the plethora of turnips I received in my Boston Organics box. I cut up a large turnip (peeled) and a large potato (unpeeled) into bite sized pieces and steamed them until they were fork tender. I then sautéed them in a large skillet with a pad of Smart Balance Light butter, a pinch of salt and rosemary. On a whim, I threw in a small handful of raisins and a dash of cinnamon, because it makes everything better. And it did. I was surprised how much I liked this! The classic rosemary with potatoes kept it homey, while the turnips added an interesting flavor and stronger texture. The raisins were a nice sweet addition, though I did make it without and liked it both ways. A whole turnip and potato made at least 3 if not more meals for me served alongside a fried egg and piece of toast. Breakfast for dinner success number 1!

IMG_5541

The second is a Curried Egg Omelette. I can’t take credit for this idea – my Grandma is the true brains behind this creation. While in Florida, she made eggs one morning and on a whim (I am seeing where my cooking style comes from now…) threw in a dash of curry powder and cinnamon. I was skeptical, as I am sure you are as well, but, like I said, cinnamon makes everything better. And it did. The cinnamon flavor didn’t shine through, but instead enhanced the light curry flavor that took over the scrambled eggs. It was unexpected and addicting. I knew I had to make it again. So I did. I mixed two eggs with a teaspoon of Greek yogurt (you could use milk or sour cream as well) and a few shakes (about 1/4 tsp) curry powder and a shake (less than 1/8 tsp) cinnamon. You can turn this into scrambled eggs, or pour it into a really hot pan for a nice omelette with a crunchy outside. The curry flavor is mild but unique, and leaves me wanting more! I ate these eggs alongside some sweet potato  home fries, skins left on and sautéed in olive oil, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

IMG_5547

Lesson learned in writing this post: I should buy stock in cinnamon.

And I am so excited to cook and share with you all again!

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Recipes, Running. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Failure Is Not an Option Back in the Kitchen

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen's Mom  |  May 21, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Welcome back! I’ve missed reading your posts. I am glad you survived your first board exam

    Reply
  • 2. Auntie Anne  |  May 21, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    It’s good to have you back.

    Reply
  • 3. erraffety  |  May 22, 2012 at 12:24 am

    So glad you’re back blogging. I, too, missed your posts, but if it weren’t for this respite, I’m sure you wouldn’t have been able to come up with so many meaningful lessons learned (which I’m also thankful for)!

    Reply
  • 4. Don Grant  |  May 22, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Dear Jen
    Glad your ordeal is over and you survived very well while learning a lot about yourself. We are looking forward to seeing you. I am feeling well and hope to be there Friday afternoon.
    Love
    Pop

    Reply
  • 5. Back in the Kitchen « homemadeadventure  |  May 23, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    […] did not have much time to cook during my intensive study period, outside of eggs and potatoes, simple salads, and stir fries. Needless to say, I missed my time in the kitchen and was anxious to […]

    Reply
  • 6. hotchoc  |  June 3, 2012 at 1:52 am

    How did your exams go? Glad to see new posts on your blog again. :)

    Reply
    • 7. homemadeadventure  |  June 4, 2012 at 8:17 pm

      My exam was hard, but I am glad its over! Thanks and I am happy to be back!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


