WIAW on Spring Break in FL

March 13, 2012 at 11:23 pm 9 comments

Hello from sunny Florida! Even though this winter has been mild, there is still never a need to rationalize a week spent in the Florida sunshine. Add in a visit with your amazing grandparents, uncle, aunt and cousin, and then there is even more reason to escape to the sun! I have spent my mornings squeezing in some studying, afternoons soaking up some sun at the beach, and evenings running as my Grandma makes amazing dinners. I could get used to this! Here are some pictures from my Tuesday, and look forward to a travel post on Southwest Florida when I get home!


Breakfast: 7:45am

IMG_5410

Grandma is an oatmeal fan as well, so I have still been able to enjoy my favorite breakfast! It is strawberry season in Plant City, FL, so the berries are abundant and cheap in the grocery store. I love them mixed in with some banana and cinnamon into plain oats!

Lunch: 12pm

IMG_5429
We headed out early for the number 1 beach in the US: Siesta Key! If you don’t get there early, you are unlikely to get a parking spot, so we spent the morning reading and watching the beach slowly fill up. Nothing like a morning in the sun and a swim in the Gulf to work up an appetite! I enjoyed a great wrap: basil hummus, sunflower seeds, sun dred tomatoes, tomatoes, and baby spinach. We have been adding spinach or field greens to all of our sandwiches or wraps, and always include a toss salad with dinner to make sure we get in our greens! Lunch was rounded out with a handful or two of potato chips (I am on vacation!) an apple, and lots of water, of course!

IMG_5416

Snack: 3pm

IMG_5431

After we got our fill of sun and sand, we headed to Nokomis Groves for their famous orange soft serve ice cream! This is one of my favorite parts of my visits to Florida. The orange-vanilla swirl cone is like a creamsicle, but better since it is made with fresh, Florida oranges. I was adventurous this time and got pineapple as the other swirled half and loved it! There is nothing better than a cone of soft serve ice cream on a hot afternoon.

Dinner: 6:30pm

My grandparents are well-traveled and love good food, so they like to be adventurous in trying restaurants. One of their favorite finds is the Curry Creek Cafe in Nokomis, FL. It is easy to pass by on the outside, but this place should not be missed. The cuisine is a fusion of classic Indonesian and Florida seafood, and the service is incredible.
IMG_5433
We all started with a house salad, bread and olive tapenade. The salad is incredibly fresh and tasty, and the bread comes warmed from the oven.
IMG_5434
For dinner, I enjoyed the Spicy Eggplant with Grouper cheeks, covered in an amazing spicy, tomato based sauce. Yes, that is from the fish’s head! My grandparents said that the grouper cheek is incredibly tender and well cooked at this restaurant, and so I had to be somewhat adventurous! This was incredibly spicy, but the rice and cool cucumber salad on the side tempered it. I could hardly put my fork down, this was so good! The chef himself came out to see how we liked our meal, and I tried to get the secret for the recipe I liked it so much!
IMG_5440
We enjoyed watching the sunset over the inlet after dinner, a peaceful end to a day of beautiful weather and good eats! Hope that you are enjoying your week, whether it be routine or vacation!

Question: What is the weirdest food you have ever eaten?

Entry filed under: Roamings. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Game On Highlights from Sunny Southwest Florida

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara @my less serious life  |  March 15, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    wow, grouper cheeks? that is very adventurous of you. can’t say i’ve ever had that. that beach sure looks nice, enjoy!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  March 19, 2012 at 10:48 pm

      thanks, it was fun to try something new, and they were really good!

      Reply
  • 3. Live Learn Eat (@LiveLearnEat)  |  March 17, 2012 at 7:48 am

    Yumyum! Except for the fishhead. :P Hope your spring break is going great – I’m back in Cambridge (I only got half a spring break) because I have an orgo midterm Monday. AH! Anyway, glad you’re having fun. :)

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  March 19, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      hope your midterm went well! sorry that studying had to interrupt your break!

      Reply
  • 5. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}  |  March 19, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    {sigh} beach sunset.

    It’s been far too long since I’ve been to a beach. Your spring break sounds fantastic!

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  March 19, 2012 at 10:49 pm

      thank you! hopefully you will get to a beach soon :)

      Reply
  • 7. Leah  |  March 21, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Fish cheeks–bass, grouper, etc.–are delicious! It took me a long time to be able to eat a fish served whole (albeit gutted) without being freaked out by the head. Still haven’t quite sorted how to eat a fish bone-in with a fork instead of chopsticks, though. Some day…

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  March 21, 2012 at 8:27 pm

      Fish heads still freak me out! I feel like they are watching me eat them!

      Reply
      • 9. Leah  |  March 21, 2012 at 9:00 pm

        I find if the eye is cooked through it’s way less creepy. (Writing that kind of grosses me out. I’m not the best flexitarian ever….)

        And by “a long time” I mean like “2.5 years of living in Japan and trying.” :) Still not a fan of disassembling shrimp head/legs, though I suspect that’s partially due to the fact I don’t even like shrimp that much. Veggies are much less creepy.

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


