WIAW on a Brief Trip Home

February 15, 2012 at 5:25 am 10 comments

Yesterday was a very special occasion: I got to spend the day at home and meet my best friends’ brand new baby! I was lucky enough to have the day off from my scheduled clinical classes, so I drove home Monday night and am leaving bright and early today to head back for Boston! A quick trip indeed, but I made the most of my day! Here is a peak into a day where I’m not stuck behind my desk:

Breakfast: 7:30am

IMG_4849

I woke up early to get some studying done, and so was already a cup of coffee and a few pages into studying before breakfast rolled around. I couldn’t pass up a family breakfast now, so I took a study break to enjoy some banana bread oatmeal with my parents before Dad left for work!

Lunch: 12pm

Mom took the day off, so we had a lunch date to the Loving Hut in Matawan, NJ. We were excited to try out a totally vegan lunch place, since Mom is trying to stick to a more plant-based diet since our vegan challenge. This lunch was a treat!

IMG_5327

We split spring rolls for an appetizer – tofu, carrots, cucumber, and lettuce wrapped in rice paper with a peanut dipping sauce.

IMG_5329

IMG_5330

For lunch, we each ordered a sandwich and then traded halves. Mom got a Portobello panini, which came on a great seedy bread with avocado, a chipotle veganaise, and a side arugula salad. I ordered the Philly cheesesteak, which was soy sauce-marinated soy protein with mushrooms, onions, and a nutritional yeast vegan cheese sauce, served on a great toasty bun with sweet potato fries. We split the sandwiches and sides so we could try a bit of everything!

IMG_5331

Since it was Valentine’s Day, we couldn’t pass up dessert, so we ordered a piece of Coconut Cake to share. It was a bit heavy for my tastebuds, but that didn’t stop us from polishing off our shared piece. Mom and I both agreed – all vegan food should be this flavorful and creative! If you live in NJ or near a Loving Hut, definitely check it out. There is some really great food to be tried!

Baby Pictures

IMG_5336

The newest addition to the family: Baby Ben

IMG_5338

I can’t mention meeting a little one without sharing some pictures! Baby Ben was the point of my visit home… It killed me to not be able to be home through labor, delivery, and get a chance to visit in the hospital, but it was nice to be able to be the first house guest! I got to spend an hour holding him as he slept, giving her time to unpack, change, and relax! I am so excited for both of my friends, and cannot believe that they are parents! I am honored to hold the title “Aunt Jen” and look forward to watching this cutie grow in front of our eyes!

IMG_5340

Love his funny baby faces!

IMG_5350

Afternoon Snack

IMG_5352

Red wine nail polish!

After baby bonding, Mom and I spent some girl bonding time. We picked up some necessities at Costco, and then got manicures and pedicures. We came home to enjoy a glass of red wine while waiting for Dad for dinner!

Dinner: 7:30pm

IMG_5353

After a large lunch, we kept dinner light and healthy. We roasted some broccoli and cauliflower with tumeric, garlic and onion, served with a side of brown rice pilaf (a mixture of brown rice, sprouted beans, leeks and pine nuts). My portion was pretty small after such a huge and filling lunch, but there were a few unpictured broccoli florets speared from my Dad’s plate!

Dessert: 9:30pm

IMG_5355

A small dinner left room for a small dessert – a scoop of mint chocolate chip ice cream with sliced strawberries, enjoyed while watching Chopped with my mom. I’ll be a more studious med student tomorrow today!

Question: Did you love your veggies and your sweets this Valentine’s Day? Who did you spend your day with?

Entry filed under: Roamings. Tags: , , , , , .

Chocolate Cherry Coconut Cookies Long Time No Blog

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brokencookiesdontcount  |  February 15, 2012 at 8:49 am

    You food looks delicious and the baby is Adorable!!

    Reply
  • 2. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}  |  February 15, 2012 at 9:07 am

    Awww – my uterus is aching. Oh wait, my hands are more than full with my two. But still – such cuteness!!

    I love that you and your mom had a special day together. I hope my girl grows up to want to spend days with me too!

    Reply
  • 3. Laura @ Against The Grain  |  February 15, 2012 at 10:03 am

    aww baby faces are the best!!! So sweet! That one face he is making kind of reminds me of zoolander. ;)

    Reply
  • 4. Laura  |  February 15, 2012 at 12:43 pm

    What a sweet little face! Glad you got to take a trip home. :)

    Reply
  • 5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  February 15, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    Those spring rolls look amazing.

    Reply
  • 6. Sylvia @ Frolic Through Life  |  February 15, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    I am drooling over your eats from Loving Hut. I need to go there – the food looks amazing. Baby Ben is too cute! Congrats to your friend! :)

    Reply
  • 7. EmandM  |  February 15, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    YAY! Aww SO adorable!

    Reply
  • 8. Healthiful Balance  |  February 16, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Wow, all your eats look so awesome and delicious!
    And aw, what a cute baby! :)

    Reply
  • 9. Long Time No Blog « homemadeadventure  |  February 26, 2012 at 11:06 pm

    […] life is full and takes up more time than expected, and I am not one to regret living it. Between running home to visit my new nephew, getting fancied up for the school formal, going to New Hampshire with my […]

    Reply
  • 10. Snow Day Fun: Homemade Bagels « homemadeadventure  |  February 18, 2013 at 7:38 am

    […] original plans for the weekend before last were to drive to NJ to see a certain little someone turn a year old. Mother nature had different plans though! Guess 24.9 inches of snow in 24 hours is […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


