WIAW as a Vegan with Benefits

February 8, 2012 at 7:41 am 10 comments

I like Miss Smart’s term: Vegan with Benefits, because that best describes how I have been eating for the past week! Now that the vegan challenge is over, I am still eating pretty much the same at home. However, I am enjoying not having so many restritctions on friends and families, and the easier ordering process at restaurants. I enjoyed a Greek salad wrap for my first non-vegan meal, and loved it. Oh how I missed feta! The other half sandwich I ate at the catered lunch meeting, however, was not as satisfying and I actually picked the cheese off! Granted, it was fake American cheese slices, but it definitely surprised me how little cheese I crave anymore!

My food today was random and on a weird schedule, which I blame on cravings, a weird class schedule, and my evening yoga class. WIAW isn’t about presenting your perfect day, though, so here is a peak into my eats! In keeping with Jenn’s theme for this month, let me restate how much I really do love veggies. Despite being all over the place, I did a decent job of getting my greens. One way to get extra veggies is to incorporate them into snacks (I am not a fan of raw veggies, so like to roast broccoli or snap peas or Brussels sprouts first), add them to your sandwich (like the lettuce leaf over my hummus crackers), make up a quick side salad with dinner, or enjoy a huge stir fry. Join us for the month to try and get more veggies in your daily meals!

6:45am

IMG_5277

Because food never looks great at the crack of dawn, a picture of the original.

I finally obeyed my alarm clock and got up before the sun to get some work done. Lately, I have been able to get an hour of studying done before getting hungry for breakfast, but not this morning. That meant a really early breakfast of a pumpkin muffin with a bit of peanut butter, kept on the lighter side in case I decided to go out for a quick run. The other weird occurrence: I didn’t have coffee! I slept a lot this weekend, so my body hasn’t craved its caffeine jump start the past two mornings! Doubt that will last long…

11am

IMG_5321_2

Someone was a little heavy handed with the spicy stuff

After getting bogged down by work, a phone call, and a few distractions, my run never happened. I snacked on half an apple to tide me over, but needless to say I was starving by lunch! I heated up some leftovers: Mama Pea’s Thai Fried Quinoa (my 2nd time making the recipe!) made with edamame instead of peas and topped with a few peanuts and Sriracha. Still hungry, I munched on a handful of peanuts, and then heated up the other half of my apple with some local honey, cinnamon and almond butter.

IMG_5323

The best thing I ate all day

4:30pm

IMG_5317

I walked over to campus for a long afternoon of cancer screening seminars. My body responded to all of the information being thrown at me with a few loud stomach growls. I responded with dinner part 1: caramelized Brussels sprouts leftover from the other night, and a big juicy orange.

8pm

IMG_5325_2

After a hard yoga class, I was about to gnaw my arm off. I turned to the quickest dinner part 2 possible: hummus on rice cakes with a lettuce leaf ripped over top, with some Veggie Chips from Trader Joe’s on the side. Those were promptly inhaled before I even reached the table… Still hungry after dinner, I roasted up half a crown of broccoli. Normal people crave broccoli for dessert, right? Regardless of what meal category this fits into, roasted broccoli with BBQ sauce hit the spot! Real dessert, 2 squares of dark chocolate, followed to end my random day!

IMG_5326_2

Just your average dessert craving...

Question: Do you ever have random food days?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , .

Squash and Salad Mom’s Reflections on the Vegan Challenge

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen  |  February 8, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Whoo hoo! Love the use of my “dietary definition.” :)

    Also, I love how similar we are! BBQ + Broccoli = YUM…and I’ve been loving incorporating roasted veggies into snacks…especially winter squash chunks! [I love them cold…]

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  February 8, 2012 at 10:29 pm

      I definitely ate Kabocha squash straight from the fridge with BBQ sauce a few days ago :)

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  February 8, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    You’re not craving cheese anymore, wow!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  February 8, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      I know, I am shocked! I did have a little cheese at dinner tonight though, but it was my good cheese from Italy! I might be a cheese snob in the making…

      Reply
  • 5. Becca @ Blueberry Smiles  |  February 8, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Your pumpkin muffins look delish!

    Reply
  • 6. Candy @ Healthy In Candy Land  |  February 8, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    Your apple snack sounds so good, especially right now as I am hungry and ready for a snack! I never think to heat my apples, but I shall try it right now.

    Reply
    • 7. homemadeadventure  |  February 8, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      I almost made it two days in a row it was so good!

      Reply
  • 8. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}  |  February 9, 2012 at 8:39 am

    I’ve never roasted broccoli for dessert, but maybe I’m missing out. I’ve been meaning to try that quinoa recipe – glad to hear you recommend it.

    Reply
  • 9. Jessica  |  February 9, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    The muffins sound awesome, thanks for sharing the link! Anything with pumpkin is a winner in my book :)

    Reply
  • 10. sara @my less serious life  |  February 9, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    there it is! broccoli for dessert! i prefer chocolate myself – but broccoli ain’t bad especially when dipped in bbq sauce.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


