WIAW on the Final Day of the Vegan Challenge

February 1, 2012 at 7:14 am 21 comments

How quickly a month goes by! Somehow, it is already February 1st, punctuated by the fact that it wasn’t pitch dark when I left the clinic at 5pm yesterday, and by the end of our month long vegan challenge! I will be back soon to share thoughts from my mom, dad, and friend, but for now, my food and thoughts on my last day as a vegan!

Breakfast: 7:45am

IMG_5308

I had a full day yesterday, scheduled to shadow a clinical pharmacist from 8:30am-12:30pm and perform an observed physical exam from 1-5pm. A busy day must start with a good breakfast! I enjoyed some reheated whipped banana oats with a few blueberries, fresh banana slices, and sunflower seed butter stirred in.

Lunch: 12:30pm

IMG_5306

Breakfast must have been good because I wasn’t hungry until I broke out my salad! A big bed of greens with green bell peppers, carrots, chickpeas, avocado and balsamic viniagrette. A pear as a palate cleanser, all enjoyed with a bottle of iced tea from the cafeteria. (I left my water bottle at yoga on Saturday and my hydration has seriously been lacking since then! Good thing my friend grabbed it for me so I should have it back soon…)

Dinner: 6pm

IMG_5309

I definitely got hungry midafternoon, but was too busy to have time to take care of it. By the time I got home, I was ravenous! Good thing I could make 5-minute microwave soup… all from scratch! Check out Monday’s post about my vegan broccoli cheddar soup, which I made and enjoyed again after my long day.

Dessert: 7:30pm

IMG_5313

I munched on some air popped popcorn, dusted with cocoa powder, cinnamon and sugar. A sweet treat to end the night, along with some chammomile tea and a handful of trail mix for good measure.

I have enjoyed exploring vegan eating over the past month, and am surprised at how quickly I adapted to a life without cheese. If I could live in my own insular apartment and always cook for myself, I would love to stay vegan. However, I am still in a very social part of my life right now, and potlucks and being hosted by friends and family is a greater priority for me. I do not want to wear the label of vegan, but will continue to cut back on the amount of dairy I consume. I am striving for balance, not perfection, and this is what seems right for me. I will be back soon with my parents thoughts on how they will continue!

Question: How do you handle hunger when you don’t have time to take a break?

Entry filed under: Ramblings, Random. Tags: , , , , , , .

More Time for Misbehaving Squash and Salad

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brokencookiesdontcount  |  February 1, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Everything looks tasty, especially the soup! Congrats on completing the vegan challenge!

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  February 1, 2012 at 8:53 am

    You did it! Congratulations!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  February 1, 2012 at 11:38 am

      Thanks! Its crazy how quickly a month can pass!

      Reply
  • 5. Kimberly @ Badger Girl Learns to Cook  |  February 1, 2012 at 10:12 am

    I love the idea of coating popcorn with cocoa and cinnamon. Yum! :)

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  February 1, 2012 at 11:38 am

      It is my latest obsession when I need something sweet to munch… and relatively healthy all other options considered!

      Reply
  • 7. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen  |  February 1, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    I love hearing your thoughts about the vegan challenge. Having undergone one myself last October, and then continued to be “vegan with benefits” since then, I’ve found that I love the diet, but that I needed to be adaptable for some of the same reasons you stated. I never want to have to say “no” to a social engagement because of concerns that there might be butter in the food, or an egg white whipped in!

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  February 1, 2012 at 9:36 pm

      I have loved a lot of your vegan recipes! I like your “vegan with benefits” title :)

      Reply
  • 9. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  February 1, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    OK, I knew you could do it. How’d dad do and what is the first thing he plans to eat now that the challenge is over?

    Reply
    • 10. homemadeadventure  |  February 1, 2012 at 9:37 pm

      Dad did great! His first meal was an omelette with ham and green peppers. I’ll have him guest post soon!

      Reply
  • 11. Professor Vegetable  |  February 1, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Everything looks really, really good!!! Happy WIAW!!! I’m checking out that soup.

    Reply
  • 12. Michelle {The Lively Kitchen}  |  February 1, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    I’m with you on the vegan lifestyle. I personally am not committed enough to the cause to handle the social challenges that can come with it. Also – I cook for a non-vegan family and don’t want to cook two different meals three times a day. Call me lazy. :)

    I’ve noticed my cheese cravings go WAY down after cutting it mostly out. I still eat a little, but it doesn’t taste the way I want it too. Goat cheese, however, still tastes pretty darn good to me.

    Reply
    • 13. homemadeadventure  |  February 1, 2012 at 9:38 pm

      I had my first bites of cheese today, and you are so right about not tasting the way I want it to! I still love fancier cheeses (brie, goat, a good cheddar) but think I have finally broken my addiction :)

      Reply
  • 14. Becca @ Blueberry Smiles  |  February 1, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Your popcorn looks delicious! Congrats on getting through your vegan month!

    Reply
  • 15. Tara  |  February 1, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    I’ve always wanted to do a vegan challenge! I was thinking about doing one for february, but the month kind of snuck up on me. I actually haven’t decided on what kind of “challenge” or goals I want to set for the month. Maybe I’ll just finish out the dairy that I have and start late!

    Reply
    • 16. homemadeadventure  |  February 1, 2012 at 9:39 pm

      You should definitely try it! Make sure you are well stocked with alternatives before starting though – that definitely helps with the “um, what can I eat?” moments

      Reply
  • 17. Laura  |  February 1, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Way to go on a full month! I totally get the vegan in public settings thing, it’s part of the reason why we are not strictly vegan or vegetarian, but we do eat mostly that way at home. I am a huge snacker… can’t remember the last time I got hungry and didn’t have a snack nearby. :)

    Reply
  • 18. JensMom  |  February 2, 2012 at 11:02 am

    Hi everyone, Jen’s Mom here with a few quick thoughts on my 30 days as a vegan. First of all I learned a lot from my daughter and lost some weight in the process. Thank you Jen for your encouragement and support. My first meal craving was an omelette (spinach with feta cheese) and I have to admit it was not as satifying as I had been dreaming about!! I have made some pretty awesome vegan breakfasts over the month sans egg and cheese! I agree with Jen that being vegan in a social setting is the hardest–I had friends over for dinner the other night and they all admitted to eating their meat or chicken BEFORE they came to my house to eat my vegan food. So while I plan on sticking to my mostly vegan/vegatarian ways, I do like the freedom to cheat a bit when needed. More thoughts to come in a guest blog!

    Reply
  • 19. sara @my less serious life  |  February 2, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    i’ve been craving popcorn lately and usually dust with cinnamon but never thought of cocoa powder. great idea!

    Reply
  • 20. Zoe  |  February 6, 2012 at 5:33 am

    The broccoli soup looks delicious. I’m vegetarian and I’m comfortable how I am, but I am striving toward eating less dairy in my diet!

    Reply
    • 21. homemadeadventure  |  February 7, 2012 at 8:43 am

      I have definitely stuck with less dairy consumption, and this soup makes it so easy since it is creamy and cheesy without the dairy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


