A Lonely Can of Pumpkin

January 29, 2012 at 5:22 pm 8 comments

Along with the rest of the blog world, I was on a huge pumpkin kick in the early fall. I was loving pumpkin oatmeal and pumpkin pancakes, and stocked up on canned pumpkin whenever my grocery store had it on sale. As I was searching for an idea for a vegan muffin to bring to my Bible study last week, I stumbled upon the last lonely can of pumpkin in my cabinet. I decided on making pumpkin muffins, knowing that pumpkin and banana based quick breads are the easiest to make vegan! After a quick Google search and a lot of recipe comparisons, I decided to try out a recipe from Post Punk Vegan Kitchen. After being the self-proclaimed best, it was a no brainer! I made some adaptations from the original recipe: using some whole wheat flour, less sugar, subbing some of the oil with applesauce. The result – a really flavorful, dense vegan muffin! I was really happy with how these turned out, so give them a try! The recipe is pretty fool-proof.

IMG_5274

IMG_5281

The only problem: it doesn’t use up a full can of pumpkin! Maybe there is a pumpkin quinoa breakfast bake in my future…

Question: Where do you find most of your new recipes?

IMG_5277

Vegan Pumpkin Muffins

adapted from Post Punk Kitchen, makes 16 muffins

3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cups sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground or freshly grated nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 teaspoon ground allspice

1 cup pureed pumpkin

1/2 cup soy milk

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup apple sauce

2 tablespoons molasses

In two bowls, mix wet and dry ingredients together; then combine. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray. Fill cups 2/3 full. Bake muffins at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. Allow to cool slightly in pan, then use a knife to loosen the edges. Remove from pan to cool completely.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , .

Lentil “Meat” Sauce More Time for Misbehaving

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. EmandM  |  January 29, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Ahh! those look so good! Now I’m sad I used all the pumpkin up =/

    Reply
  • 3. sara @my less serious life  |  January 30, 2012 at 11:00 am

    these look great! i am always looking for healthy (yet tasty!) muffin recipes because my boyfriend (and me :) ) love to have them during the week for a quick breakfast/snack.

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  January 30, 2012 at 9:54 pm

      definitely give this one a try next time! it is a great snack/breakfast

      Reply
  • 5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 30, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    We find recipes everywhere or just have to have something and can’t find that right recipe, so we make it up! These look wonderful.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  January 30, 2012 at 9:55 pm

      I’m with you – where don’t I find recipes? I have too many to try!

      Reply
  • 7. WIAW as a Vegan with Benefits « homemadeadventure  |  February 8, 2012 at 7:42 am

    […] before getting hungry for breakfast, but not this morning. That meant a really early breakfast of a pumpkin muffin with a bit of peanut butter, kept on the lighter side in case I decided to go out for a quick run. […]

    Reply
  • 8. It’s Fall Y’all: Pumpkin « homemadeadventure  |  October 8, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    […] Vegan Pumpkin Muffins […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


