WIAW Out of the Freezer

January 11, 2012 at 7:00 am 10 comments

An exciting development occurred in my kitchen over the weekend: we have a new fridge! Well, a new-to-us fridge, but it has still made me so very happy! We have a door with shelves that stays shut overnight, no duct tape in sight, and no gross mold or rust. The little things in life that make you so happy… A quick shout out to my adopted family for their generous gift! My cousin read my brief complaint in a previous blog post, who told my aunt, who called to offer me the extra fridge they had in their basement! After a lot of coordinating and a few friends with a truck and brute strength, we got the fridge transferred! We learned a little bit about ourselves during the food transfer process: we seem to have a selective memory loss for mustard acquisition, since we somehow ended up with 6 bottles of yellow mustard (both of us are vegetarians and neither of us use yellow mustard, so figure that one out…) I also discovered my frozen food horde. My tendency to freeze leftovers for “too busy to cook” nights has caught up with me! I could feed a small army with the number of meals I have frozen away. Okay, maybe not an army, but definitely myself for a few weeks! To cut down the stash, I am eating whatever vegan meals I have frozen away! This is a glimpse of things I have eaten from my freezer this week, not all necessarily on a certain day. Hopefully my horde will be gone soon so I can freeze away new recipes! ;) All pictures are originals from the recipe posts, since frozen leftovers don’t make for the most photogenic of food days.

Breakfast

green monster

Photo from original post on Oh She Glows

I have at least 4 frozen bananas, and a bunch of frozen blueberries, so I decided to make smoothies the last few mornings! I based my smooth off of Angela’s classic green monster, the only change being a handful of blueberries and a bit of agave. Warning: the blueberries make the smoothie a weird black color, but it tastes even better! Though I am normally not a smoothie person because I like to chew my breakfast, this is very filling, and is a good way to get some extra green stuff in your day with the hidden spinach.

Lunch

curried potatoes

Photo from original post on Daily Garnish

I made these Curried Potatoes and Peas a while back, and broke out the frozen leftovers for lunch! Enjoyed with a piece of flatbread, this made for an excellent lunch during a busy day at school! Plus, it made for a very easy morning, since I just had to grab the container from my freezer and go!

Dinner

carrot soup

Photo from original post on Frugal Feeding

I made Thai Carrot Soup during our cold snap in October, and froze more than half of the recipe away. There are at least 4 containers in my freezer, so I needed to make a dent in it! Good thing it is thickened with coconut milk, so it is friendly to my vegan challenge this month!

Question: Are you a food hoarder? What one item do you always have in your fridge/freezer/pantry?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

Vegan Pesto Black Bean Burgers with a Kick

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 11, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Wow, I’m not even missing meat looking at those photos. The potatoes especially look filling. Hooray for a new fridge. We recently got a new to us washer and dryer and it’s so nice having something that works!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  January 11, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      You never know how bad something is until you don’t have to put up with it anymore!

      Reply
  • 3. Laura  |  January 11, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Mmm, that carrot soup looks great! I love keeping our freezer stashed, too… we almost always have homemade granola bars in there (daughter’s favorite snack), date-nut balls, and huge bags of blueberries.

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  January 11, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      Frozen blueberries are the best – they’re so much cheaper that way!

      Reply
  • 5. Candy @ Healthy In Candy Land  |  January 11, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    Your meals look delicious! I am so not a food hoarder, but I need to work on that because sometimes it would be so nice to just pull something homemade out of the freezer rather than start from scratch every day, especially on very busy/too tired to cook days. The only thing I typically keep in the freezer are cooked beans, berries, bread, peas and edamame. Not much to make a meal with by themselves.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  January 11, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      They definitely come in handy to have on hand, especially when school gets busy. Just can’t have too many – our freezer is pretty small!

      Reply
  • 7. Kimberly @ Badger Girl Learns to Cook  |  January 11, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Congrats on the new fridge!
    I think it is so cool you utilized your freezer today. Yes, I am Kimberly and I am food hoarder.
    I am writing and recipe testing for a cookbook so our freezers (yes multiple!) are overflowing with my soups, restaurant stocks, restaurant soups, more soups. You get the picture.
    Happy WIAW!

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  January 11, 2012 at 9:34 pm

      Love it! They’ll all get put to good use eventually… right? :) Good luck with the cookbook!

      Reply
  • 9. vegansunshine  |  January 11, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    Green monster sounds deeeelish! :)
    Happy WIAW!

    Whitney

    Reply
  • 10. My Favorite Green Smoothies | Artistry by Adele  |  January 24, 2012 at 11:16 am

    […] have been drinking green smoothie’s for a while now, but thanks to fellow blogger Homemade Adventure I recently found one I like more than any of the others I’ve made. It is a simple recipe with […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


