WIAW My First Day as a Vegan

January 4, 2012 at 7:43 am 9 comments

When I agreed to eat a vegan diet for the month of January, I quite frankly thought I’d have a really easy time with it. I am already a vegetarian, rarely drink milk, and only have eggs on occasion. Cheese, however, is a staple in my daily diet. Cutting it out is really hard, even only a few days in! Maybe it is hardest at first, since my body is still craving what it is used to, but it is humbling to admit that I might struggle with this challenge almost as much as my dad! Thanks to Jenn at Peas and Crayons, here is a glimpse into my first day of vegan food!

Breakfast: 9:45am

IMG_5216

I had to start the New Year right with a big bowl of oatmeal! Even after my 30 flavors of oatmeal, there are still more combinations to enjoy for breakfast! (The oatmeal project that begin months ago is finally complete – check it out!) I kept it pretty simple with almond butter and dates stirred into oats cooked in water and almond milk. Enjoyed with some coffee in my new French press – it was a great start to the morning (and year!).

Lunch: 2pm

IMG_5217

I planned on going to the afternoon service at my church, but read the email announcing a single service right after breakfast. I flew out of my house and managed to make it on time for the sermon! After catching up with Boston friends I hadn’t seen in a few weeks, I headed home hungry for lunch. I sauteed some colored peppers, onion, and snap peas, and then rolled them up with some hummus on a tortilla. Lunch was finished with an unpictured clementine, as well as a handful of mixed nuts gobbled before my run.

Dinner: 7pm

IMG_5219

This is where the no cheese thing got tough! I layered some polenta and roasted eggplant together and topped that with some bruschetta and Balsamic vinegar. It was good, but I missed the Parmesan cheese I would usually add!

Dessert: 8pm

snack attack

I had a “baked” apple with cinnamon for dessert and planned to call it a night. However, hunger struck when I was watching TV late into the night, and so I snacked on a handful of granola and some raisins and nuts. Without Greek yogurt and cheese as protein staples in my diet, I need to make sure I am eating enough protein throughout the day to prevent nightly snack attacks!

Besides missing cheese, I am really excited to continue to experiment with vegan cooking over the next month. Already, I have been more mindful of incorporating more veggies into my meals, since you can never have too much of the green stuff!

Question: Do you have any diet-related New Years Resolutions?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Thoughts on the Vegan Challenge Tips for Meatless Eating

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon from Healthiful Balance  |  January 4, 2012 at 7:48 am

    I’m not vegan but it looks like your doing pretty good on your first day of being vegan!

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  January 4, 2012 at 1:13 pm

      Thanks! It is getting easier as it becomes part of my normal meal routine

      Reply
  • […] as they are posted. Join 96 other followers … … Read more from the original source: WIAW My First Day as a Vegan « homemadeadventure ← Recipes For Vegetarian Dishes ~ Vegan Recipe Secrets | Healthy […]

    Reply
  • 4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 4, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    Oatmeal for breakfast? I am astounded. That hummus wrap and all those veggies look awesome. Hang in there Dad!

    Reply
  • 6. Amy @ Turtle-speed runner  |  January 4, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    Good luck with the rest of the month being vegan! :) I’m sure you’ll find plenty of inspiration from WIAW posts.

    Reply
  • 7. Ty  |  January 4, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Ooooh your dinner looks great. I’m not vegan or even vegetarian but I am trying to lose some weight so I have cut back on cheese. There are some things I thought I would NEVER love as much without cheese… but you eventually get used to it. Especially if you’ve got flavorful veggies you love with it. :)

    Reply
  • 8. Laura  |  January 4, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    I’m not vegan but I eat very little meat and limit dairy… I would really miss yogurt and cheese, too! Your food looks sooo good, especially the polenta-eggplant-bruschetta combo. YUM!

    Reply
  • 9. Tt in nyc  |  January 5, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    I hope you have the peasandthankyou.com cookbook, and check out some of the other great vegan bloggers out there- congrats, i went vegan a few years ago and have never looked back. (skinny bitch will fix those dairy cravings for the family very quickly….)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


