Thoughts on the Vegan Challenge

January 3, 2012 at 7:00 am 5 comments

I am still in shock that we are two days into the challenge and my dad is still pretty enthusiastic! He proudly recounted all of the fruits and veggies he ate on his first day as a vegan, and even went for a walk with my mom! My mom is a great cook, so I think my dad is realizing that he won’t starve and is beginning to calm down a bit. I asked my parents and friend to answer a few questions for me at the beginning stages of our challenge, and am excited to see how their feelings change as we progress throughout the month!

1. What made you accept this challenge?

Dad: For my heart, and Jen. (Aw, thanks Dad)

Mom: Do you really think Dad could do this on his own?! (So true, Mom)

Dan: I am addicted to the phrase, “challenge accepted.” (It is that competitive spirit that landed us in a triathlon last summer!)

2. What are you most looking forward to this month as a vegan?

Mom and Dad are both looking to lose a bit of weight and have more energy

Dan: February 2nd. (Positive attitude, there, buddy. Nice ;)

3. What are you most concerned about?

Mom: making good food choices on busy days

Dad: Mac Attack

Dan: Jen’s tempestuous malicious jolly making should I fail.

4. Do you think you will be able to last the whole month? 3 resounding yes’s!

5. What one item will you miss the most?

Mom: cheese

Dad: meat

Dan: well, pretty much everything.

It looks like everyone is feeling pretty good at the beginning! I am still chuckling at some of Dad and Dan’s responses – they are being pretty good sports! Even if they aren’t looking forward to it, they are too competitive to back out now!

Question: What would be the hardest thing for you to give up if you started to eat vegan?

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , .

For the Love of Oatmeal WIAW My First Day as a Vegan

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 3, 2012 at 10:40 am

    I have no problem seeing you and your mom doing this. Dad, no offense, I’m a little more skeptical about. But I think he’ll pull through.

    Reply
  • 2. homemadeadventure  |  January 3, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    Haha! My dad is actually having an easier time than I gave him credit for… he may actually pull through!

    Reply
  • 3. erraffety  |  January 4, 2012 at 1:42 am

    Your parents are great! I like your Dad’s phrase, “challenge accepted.” Has he ever seen How I Met Your Mother? (It’s also one of the characters’ catch phrases!) I also love that your Dad’s biggest fear is “Mac attack.” Hope they can go the distance!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  January 4, 2012 at 1:14 pm

      They are pretty great :) I think they will make it – my dad seems pretty ok so far and he was the one we were all worried about! I betcha Dan stole that line from How I Met Your Mother… he is a huge fan…

      Reply
  • […] have seen my progress in the Vegan Challenge, and have occasionally heard from my parents and friend, but I thought I would give them a chance to share about their experience in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


