New Years Resolution

January 1, 2012 at 12:00 pm 5 comments

Happy 2012! This past year has flown by, and has been filled with so many great memories. I started this blog, finished my first year of medical school, traveled to 5 new countries, completed my first triathlon, stood next to my best friends as they got married, and so much more. It is impossible to predict what a new year will bring, no matter how much you think your life is planned out. I am excited for what this year holds!

One of my goals for the year is to keep my kitchen (and apartment) more organized. I am tired of reaching for the salt and knocking over 10 other spice bottles in the process, annoyed with all of the loose dry beans floating in my cabinet, and over the Tupperware tower that attacks me every time I make my lunch. I have spent the entire weekend (minus New Years celebrations, of course!) deep cleaning and re-organizing my apartment, and hope to keep it up as life gets busy and stressful again! One tip I have seen for pantry organization is to move bulk items into jars, tupperware, or other storage containers. Anything that comes in a plastic bag tends to be amorphous and hard to store neatly. I have moved all of my dry goods into glass jars that my roommate and I have been hoarding anytime we finish almond butter, salsa, pasta sauce, etc.

IMG_5020

IMG_5021

My mom was a little fancier with her organization and bought a pack of large canning jars for her dry goods. She filled them, labeled them with cute paper, and then stuck a slip with the cooking instructions onto the lid. Her cabinets are beautiful, clean and organized now!

IMG_5031

Our newly organized dry beans will also help with a second challenge: going vegan! A friend and I, who are too competitive for our own good, got into a discussion about food and lifestyle choices. After a little while, he decided to experiment with being a vegan for a month, but only if I could convince my meat-loving father to do so. Oh how little he understands how much sway a daughter has on her father ;) My dad accepted the challenge, and so now my friend and my dad are competing to see if they can last the month as vegans! For solidarity, my mom and I have agreed to also participate in the challenge. We each are challenging ourselves for different reasons, and some are more excited, willing and ready than others. Regardless, it will definitely be an interesting month for all of us! I hope to have a few fun posts with some thoughts from my parents and friend about their success with the challenge, as well as share some recipes that I try out or create along the way!

IMG_1252

Question: Do you have any New Years Resolutions?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , .

A Tale of Two Markets For the Love of Oatmeal

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  January 1, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    Congratulations on your accomplishments of the past year, and the fact that you have already started to work on this year’s! I am trying the jar-organization trick. I am also using the short handle-less baskets that I received some gifts in for cabinet organization; they handle dip mixes and spice packets quite nicely. My cabinets do not look as nice as the ones in your pictures, but I’m trying. Happy New Year.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  January 1, 2012 at 10:04 pm

      Thats a great idea too! I have repurposed some lidless tupperware for that in my spice cabinet – keeps all of those packets and bags so much neater! Happy New Year

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  January 1, 2012 at 7:07 pm

    Wow, you did so much this year. I know dads love their daughters but wow!

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  January 1, 2012 at 10:04 pm

      Thanks! I was surprised when he agreed, but he is being a good sport about the challenge!

      Reply
  • 5. Thoughts on the Vegan Challenge « homemadeadventure  |  January 3, 2012 at 7:00 am

    […] am still in shock that we are two days into the challenge and my dad is still pretty enthusiastic! He proudly recounted all of the fruits and veggies he ate […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


