A Tale of Two Markets

December 31, 2011 at 11:11 am 3 comments

While I was at home with my family, I got to explore two different markets with my mom! We went to the Reading Terminal Market in Philadelphia at the beginning of my vacation, and the Columbus Market in South Jersey towards the end of my time at home. Both were such fun experiences, and were very different despite both being Amish markets!
IMG_5063
The Reading Terminal Market has been an integral part of Philadelphia since the late seventeenth century. It was established so that farmers, fisherman, and craftsmen could come together to exchange their goods. Today, it is more well-known for it’s fun lunch establishments and specialty ingredients stores, but still invokes the original purpose of mixing of goods and ideas.
IMG_5068
IMG_5064
It was so much fun to weave through the aisles, checking out traditional Amish canned goods, butcher shops with locally raised meat, candy shops with Pennsylvania Dutch classics, and people watching to find an odd collection of Philadelphia businessmen, tourists, and country farmers.
IMG_5066
IMG_5067
My favorite find of the day was a spice shop that sold bulk bags of lesser known spices, loose leaf teas, and fancy roasted coffees. I picked up some allspice and garam masala, as well as some loose leaf tea and a half pound of Frangelica roasted coffee beans. My mom and I went to the store twice, not getting everything we wanted the first time! The other highlight of this market was the prepared food. At noon, the indoor market was flooded with 9-to-5’ers on their lunch break, looking for a quick bite. You could find every time of cuisine, from traditional Pennsylvania Dutch to Cajun, Soul Food to Middle Eastern, American to Italian, and more. We circled the market twice before making up our minds on lunch – there were just too many options to choose from!
IMG_5073
We settled on crepes, where my mom enjoyed a seafood crepe and I got a Mediterranean veggie. It was fun to sit at the counter and watch the guy make perfectly formed crepes one after the other, and it was even better to taste the delicious result! How such a thin crepe can be so light and fluffy is beyond my skill set, but has inspired me to learn how to make these delicious things myself!
IMG_5074
Overall, I loved my experience at the Reading Terminal Market. I appreciated that it was indoors, so that you can get the fun market experience even throughout a cold winter. I also loved all of the specialty ingredients stores, and loved watching the mix of people flood past me.

IMG_5199

IMG_5207

Almost like book ends to my vacation, we visited the Columbus Farmer’s Market in Columbus, NJ before I left as well. If you described both of them to me, they would sound almost the same, but the experiences were so very different!
IMG_5196
They both featured traditional Amish goods, like canned vegetables and jams, candies, baked goods, and traditional butchers, but the Columbus Market had a wider focus than just foods. They also sold handmade crafts, like intricately quilted pot holders, hand sewn table runners, country-style home decorations, and much more.
IMG_5195
Beyond the Amish portion of the market, there were stores that sold all sorts of items at pretty good discounts. There was everything from an As Seen On TV shop to a discount scrapbook store, and everything in between. Outside, there are more tables set up with more typical market goods – perfume, knock off designer bags, hats, scarves, etc. Beyond that, there is a flea market that runs during the summer. We had fun exploring the indoor market, where we picked up a few bulk items, looked at all of the beautiful handiwork of the Amish crafts, and had a quick bite to eat.
IMG_5194
Before leaving, we went to the true farmers part of the market. The produce was beautifully displayed in wooden baskets, and was remarkably cheap! Mom and I had a field day, picking up a bunch of fruits and vegetables to split between us. Even with self-restraint, I still ended up with at least four bags of squash, green beans, eggplant, potatoes, apples and oranges. I would love to go back in the summer at the peak of the NJ growing season!
IMG_5202
IMG_5204
IMG_5205
IMG_5206
Overall, I found the Columbus Market a better place to do food shopping. The prices on their produce were unbeatable, and the Amish bakery, butcher, and canned goods were amazing. There were not as many options, and the Amish are definitely not vegetarian friendly for lunch. (The only non-meat options were a soft pretzel or pizza.)

IMG_5072

I had so much fun exploring both of these markets, and have come home loaded with some fun new spices and veggies to play with!

Entry filed under: Roamings. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A Christmas Dinner Gift New Years Resolution

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  December 31, 2011 at 11:17 am

    Wow, talk about impressive. Have a great New Year!

    Reply
  • 2. Conor Bofin  |  December 31, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    The food markets of France are truly mind blowing places. For me, I visit them as a tourist and get a huge amount of enjoyment from the fresh ingredients and wonderful foods. For the French, it is a part of their daily lives. I envy them as I envy anybody living within driving distance of either of these markets. Nice post.
    Happy New Year,
    Conor

    Reply
  • 3. ilikestoscribble  |  December 31, 2011 at 3:54 pm

    I love the Reading Terminal Market! But you definitely made much more use of it than I ever did. Wish I can have a few more chances at it. =)

    And how I miss the Amish stands here! None are to be found here (obviously), but I’ll imagine I’m in your shoes getting to experience it all. Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


