It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

December 17, 2011 at 11:05 am 6 comments

In my mind, it is now officially Christmas! Exams are over, so now my time can be filled with Christmas cookie baking, making homemade gifts, and coming up with creative wrapping papers. I have always been a self-labeled Christmas nerd, but Pinterest has only fueled my obsession. There are so many great DIY ideas for Christmas ornaments, decorations, gifts in a jar, and recycled gift wrapping! Check out my holiday board for some of the ideas I love right now, and here are some pictures of creative Christmas crafts I have already completed.

IMG_4977

Chocolate covered pretzels, a great gift idea for holiday party hosts. About 30 mini-pretzels can fit in a standard canning jar, and then you can decorate it simply with scrapbooking paper or ribbon to make it look festive!

IMG_4990

A paper twilling Christmas ornament that I made last year when I finished my anatomy course. The tutorial I used can be found here by clicking the picture.

IMG_4992

Another paper ornament from last year, a 3D paper star. Click the picture for the tutorial to make these yourself!

IMG_4994

A really simple paper heart ornament, made with 4 strips of double-sided scrapbook paper.

IMG_5001

A snow flurry inside of my own dining room! I have been seeing this all over Pinterest and couldn't resist. I love that I can leave this up over the rest of the winter!

As a poor med student, I have to rely on creativity for gifts and holiday fun. Christmas doesn’t have to drain your bank account, and there are so many fun ideas to make Christmas thoughtful and affordable. I am so grateful to have the next week to spend making cards and Christmas cookies, as well as spend time with friends and family!

Question: What are you doing in this week leading up to Christmas?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

WIAW To Clear Out My Fridge From Grandma’s Cookbook

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life)  |  December 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I love those ornaments you made! If you find the tutorials, you should definitely post them :)

    I’m all about homemade gifts. I definitely don’t have the money to spend on gifts for EVERYONE that I care about.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  December 17, 2011 at 9:29 pm

      Thanks :) I found tutorials for two of them and made the pictures links!

      Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  December 17, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Very impressive!

    Reply
  • 5. Kay  |  December 19, 2011 at 1:39 am

    Woohoo for Pinterest! I’m so glad it’s helped you find things, so we your followers get more pretty updates! I love the pretzels in a jar idea. It’s a much classed up version of my usual pretzels & ziploc baggy combo. ;) I am going to do whateverrrr I want this week! I know it’s so vague, but I hope you get my drift. It’s a real change of pace from here on out!

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  December 19, 2011 at 9:15 pm

      Loving the vacation :) Hope you take full advantage of the time off! I know I am!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


