WIAW To Clear Out My Fridge

December 14, 2011 at 7:00 am 3 comments

Is it Wednesday already? I have mixed feelings of both elation and dread, for Wednesday is so close to Friday. I am officially on Christmas vacation on Friday, but there is a pesky exam that stands in the way of me and that break! Med school is interesting in that we don’t have finals this year. Our schedule is blocked by system, so we focus on one organ or group of organs for two to three weeks at a time and are then tested on it. It makes it so we don’t face crazy exam weeks, but also makes it feel like we are always gearing up for an exam! My workload has been the same since August, but my motivation has precipitously declined since getting back from Thanksgiving. Hence, both the elation and dread for Friday to finally come. Enough rambling, here is a peek into my eats while studying for my last exam of 2011! The theme of today: finding and using anything in the fridge that won’t last over Christmas break.

Breakfast: 8am

IMG_5005

Pumpkin Pie Smoothie (1/2 banana, 1 cup pumpkin, 1 tbsp almond butter, 1 thumb sized piece ginger, 1 dash nutmeg, few dashes cinnamon, 2 ice cubes, 1/3 cup rice milk)

I am sick, again! (I really thought that was just last month, but apparently it was in September! Where does time go!?) My throat is scratchy and feels swollen, but no other cold symptoms… I figured that a liquid breakfast would help my throat feel a bit better, and would also help me finish off a can of pumpkin. I saw this idea on Pinterest (yes, I’m addicted… more on that on Friday!) and adapted it to use what I had on hand. The results were pretty tasty, definitely reminiscent of pumpkin pie filling. It was easy on my throat, as well as the Nutcracker tea I drank on the side. Coffee makes my scratchy throat feel even worse, so I had to do without today.

Lunch: 11:30am

brunch burrito

Brunch Burrito (1 frambled egg, 3 tbsp black beans, 2 tbsp salsa, 1/2 cup wilted spinach, 1 pinch shredded Swiss on a warm whole wheat tortilla)

Throwing together some more random tidbits, I made a breakfast brunch burrito that was really tasty! It took almost no time to assemble and was protein and veggie packed for a long afternoon of studying.

Snacks

IMG_5010

I finished my lunch off with a Stonyfield blueberry yogurt, topped off with some frozen blueberries and a few walnut pieces. I also had a big mug of peppermint tea with honey, in a futile attempt to soothe my throat. I survived an afternoon meeting and a few hours of library studying, but retreated home quickly. I grabbed some Sugar Free Riccola cough drops from Rite Aid on my way home, and munched on those, some carrots, and a handful of trail mix while studying in more comfy sweats. The clementine was saved for an after dinner treat – delicious and packed with good-for-sick-me vitamin C, but it burned my poor sore throat!

Dinner: 8pm

snowman soup

Antipasto Black Bean Soup (1 large onion caramelized in 1 tbsp olive oil and 1 tbsp Balsamic, approx. 1 can black beans, 1 can artichoke hearts, 1 large roasted red pepper, 5-7 sun-dried tomatoes, vegetable broth to cover, pinch of sage and salt - serves 3-4)

All of those cough drops took away my appetite, so I was working away until 7:30 before realizing I needed to made dinner! I was tempted to pull out some frozen leftovers, but I still need to make my way through fridge food first! My last creation of the day was my favorite: Antipasto Black Bean Soup. Featuring an onion caramelized in Balsamic vinegar, sun-dried tomatoes, artichoke hearts, roasted red peppers, black beans and sage. Heaven in a snowman mug, warming my throat with every sip.

Question: What is the best thing you ate today?

Entry filed under: Random, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , .

Vegetable Drawer Quesadillas It’s Beginning to Look A Lot Like Christmas

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


