An Analysis of Failed Cookies

December 12, 2011 at 7:41 am 10 comments

It is no secret that I am a poor baker. I am ashamed, since baking is essentially chemistry, and I was a biochemistry major. I should be able to make a basic batch of chocolate chip cookies, right?! Wrong. This time, I can’t even blame it on healthy substitutions. I used the recipe from the back of the chocolate chips bag, and followed it to a T. The point of this baking experiment was to satisfy a pregnant friend’s craving, not to perfect my own version of the classic cookie. So what went wrong?

IMG_4869

It is still up for debate, but I have my suspicions. My friend was in charge of dry ingredients, and I made the butter and sugar mixture. She swears that she added enough flour, our first theory as to why these cookies would not stay together. Accepting Avoiding the fact that I could have been the problem, I am blaming the butter as our culprit. Our cookie baking was impromptu, and the recipe called for softened butter. Nothing a microwave can’t fix… until the butter melts. Knowing better, I incorporated the melted butter into the sugar anyway. The dough looked fine, so we scooped it out onto baking sheets. We anxiously awaited our cookies, only to pull out a cookie lava mess! Don’t worry – even ugly cookies still taste good. ;) (And at least our pumpkin chocolate chip cookies were a huge success!)

IMG_4870
Learn from my cookie fail and don’t let melted butter ruin your Christmas cookie baking! The temperature of butter is really important in baking. Cold butter is really important for flaky crusts, room temperature butter for chocolate chippers, but melted butter is rarely a good thing unless called for. Hopefully I can redeem myself with some upcoming Christmas cookie favorites!

IMG_4867

Question: What is your worst baking mistake story?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , .

Homemade Vegetable Stock Vegetable Drawer Quesadillas

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Azra  |  December 12, 2011 at 9:28 am

    It’s like one big cookie, which sounds pretty awesome to me!

    Reply
  • 2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  December 12, 2011 at 11:36 am

    I consider myself more of a cook too. Go to the library andget ratio!

    Reply
  • 3. artistrybyadele  |  December 12, 2011 at 1:42 pm

    I make baking mistakes all the time! I’m horrible at it! Every once in a while something turns out okay, but it’s a rare occurrence.

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      Those Christmas sugar cookies you had looked pretty good :)

      Reply
  • 5. booktopiareviews  |  December 12, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    a friend of mine was making bread for the first time. wondered why it didn’t rise. no yeast. it was still on the counter. She sprinkles it on top and sticks the whole thing in the oven. needless to say, it didn’t work.

    my biggest failure to date is an inablity to make white sauce. glue anyone? lol.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:36 pm

      haha wow, well at least there was a saving attempt! white sauces are hard, my mom has always struggled with gravy. I guess we will all always have our cooking nemesis!

      Reply
  • 7. Lesley  |  December 12, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Oooh yeah, it was definitely the melted butter! Butter is such a funny thing. If it’s not exactly as it’s requested (room temperature, cold or melted), things go awry.

    It looks like it’d still be worth eating though!

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      It definitely got eaten ;) Hard to not enjoy a big glob of melty chocolate chips!

      Reply
  • 9. Living, Learning, Eating  |  December 13, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    They still look good to me – and the pregnant women that I’ve known would have loved it anyway! ;)

    Reply
    • 10. homemadeadventure  |  December 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      She definitely loved it! Cookie pieces are just as good

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


