Homemade Vegetable Stock

December 10, 2011 at 10:11 am 3 comments

Homemade is always better. Didn’t my blog title give that away? But there are some things that I never thought you could make yourself. One of those things, until this past Thanksgiving, was vegetable stock. I don’t know why this realization was so late in coming since I have made my own turkey stock, and even lobster stock, in the past. (When your Grandma chases you with the turkey neck at Thanksgiving it is hard to forget your first stock making experience! I learned some valuable 50’s house wife tricks that year, though, so all is forgiven Grams ;) Even so, somehow, I wrongly assumed that there was some sort of magic to making your own vegetarian stock. No magic here, just a few hours of simple vegetables and herbs simmering in a stock pot!

IMG_4883

IMG_4884

I made my first batch of veggie stock over Thanksgiving, using some of the leek and fennel leftovers for some additional flavor. I followed this guide, the basic base of which is onions, carrots and celery. Some bay leaves and peppercorns for flavor, and you are set! If you want to get fancy, other ideas to add are mushroom stems, other herb profiles, carrot peels, and vegetable odds and ends. It is so easy and yields such a large quantity of broth for a fraction of what you buy at the grocery store. Plus, there is no sodium added, and you can control what the ultimate flavor. We used some of the broth for our cornbread stuffing, and I froze the rest and transported it back to Boston with me. Cheap, healthy, and easy. See, I told you that homemade can’t be beat!

IMG_4893

Question: Have you made your own stock before?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

Tofu Troubles An Analysis of Failed Cookies

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  December 10, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    I love adding fennel to stock, gives it a kick.

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  December 10, 2011 at 8:50 pm

    Every month :) in Asia we give our kids rice porridge from 6 mths to beyond, it taste much better with stock. Mine has celery, carrots, corn, onion, sometimes tomato 0r potato to thicken it a little.

    Reply
    • 3. homemadeadventure  |  December 12, 2011 at 7:39 am

      I love to cook my rice in stock when I am using it as a base – love the flavor it can add to everything!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


