Fridge Problems

December 4, 2011 at 10:32 pm 6 comments

My fridge is having problems. The side is all rusted out. The door is missing shelves, which have been creatively replaced by fridge tape, which isn’t exactly the most functional solution. The door handle is falling off, which is again held together by fridge tape. The back and top of the fridge freeze things, and the front door occasionally pops open, so nothing towards the front is safe. Yet, somehow, we manage to avoid food borne illness and maintain a mostly fresh fruits and veggies diet on a daily basis. We talked to our landlord, and he said “Not my job.” #rentersproblems. And so, the Craigslist hunt begins as we are looking into a new (to us) fridge, but there is a lot of coordinating of trucks and strong friends and free time that needs to happen first!

IMG_4956

The other fridge problem I am having: an overload of root veggies! Between some turnips I didn’t use from my last box, some sweet potatoes I took from my mom, and some potatoes and rutabagas I received in my last Boston Organics shipment, my veggie drawer is stocked with roots. With friends coming over for dinner, I knew exactly the way to use them up over the weekend… calzones! Now wait, don’t calzones usually feature tomatoes and cheese? Not necessarily! You just have to think outside of the crust box, and realize that a simple dough can be stuffed with a multitude of veggies and herbs to create a new spin on a calzone. This fall calzone is based on one I saw at Rufus’ Guide, which I adapted to make a vegetarian version. I also subbed the creamy cheese for pumpkin, simply to use ingredients I had on hand. This came out amazing! The dough is light and fluffy, and the inside filling is hearty and flavorful. I halved the recipe (written with my adaptations below) to make 3 very large calzones, but this could easily serve 4 with a veggie side. Try my veggie only version, or check out the original if you are a meat lover. Either way, this is a fun way to use up whatever fall veggies you have left hanging around!

Question: What is your fridge stocked with this week?

IMG_4957

Root Vegetable Calzones

adapted from Rufus’ Food and Spirit’s Guide

Dough:

2 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp yeast dissolved in 1 cup warm water

2 tbsp olive oil

Filling:

1 sweet potato, cubed

2 turnips, thinly sliced

1 clove minced garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

1/4 cup water

1/4 cup apple sauce

½ cup pumpkin

1/8 cup Parmesan cheese

1 tbsp sage, minced

½ small onion, caramelized

Add yeast to the warm water and let sit until bubbles form, about 5 minutes. Mix four and salt together, and then form a well in the center of the bowl. Add the olive oil, and then slowly begin to add the water/yeast, mixing until a sticky dough forms. When well combined, remove from bowl and knead by hand for 10 minutes. Adjust the consistency of the dough by adding 1 tbsp flour or water as needed. When done the dough should be very smooth and not sticky at all. Place in an oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap or a damp towel. Let rise for two hours.

Saute garlic in olive oil in a medium-sized frying pan for 1-2 minutes. Add sliced turnips and diced sweet potato. Add water and apple sauce; stir to combine. Cover with a lid and let simmer for 20 minutes, or until vegetables are fork tender. Stir in caramelized onions, pumpkin, grated cheese, and fresh sage. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Roll out dough on a floured surface into a large rectangle. Cut into three or four pieces, depending on desired number of servings. Fill the left side of the dough with the root vegetables, and then fold the dough over to cover. Pinch the edges closed and transfer carefully to a baking sheet. Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes, or until the dough is slightly crisped. Remove from oven and allow to cool for a few minutes before serving – the insides will be very hot!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

The Best Thing I Have Ever Made Cranberry French Toast

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  December 4, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Yay, I’m so glad someone else tried these. I loved the root veggies and I love your take on this.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  December 5, 2011 at 10:48 pm

      This was my second time making them – love the idea!

      Reply
  • 3. Living, Learning, Eating  |  December 5, 2011 at 1:16 am

    The calzones look good – yum to root veggies! :)

    Reply
  • 4. Vegetable Drawer Quesadillas « homemadeadventure  |  December 13, 2011 at 7:43 am

    […] peppers and little cheese, and no need for salsa or sour cream or guac? I think so! Just like those fall calzones, you have to think outside of the box! Like most of my best meals, these quesadillas were concocted […]

    Reply
  • 5. WIAW Out of the Freezer « homemadeadventure  |  January 11, 2012 at 7:15 am

    […] shout out to my adopted family for their generous gift! My cousin read my brief complaint in a previous blog post, who told my aunt, who called to offer me the extra fridge they had in their basement! After a lot […]

    Reply
  • 6. Flora  |  April 8, 2017 at 1:04 am

    This is such a great resource that you are providing and you give it away for free. I enjoy seeing websites that unsatdrend the value of providing a prime resource for free. I truly loved reading your post. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


