WIAW Leftovers Edition

November 30, 2011 at 6:33 am 7 comments

Thanksgiving may be old news, but I am still enjoying the leftovers from our meal on Friday! (Yes, we postponed Thanksgiving…) I tried to help my parents out by not leaving them with too much, so I took a few (read: 10) Tupperwares of goodies back with me on Monday. Good thing I did because I have been running with school pretty much ever since! Here is a glimpse into my day! Be sure to head back over to Peas and Crayons to check out Jenn’s fun food and find a new blog friend or two!

Breakfast: 7:30am

IMG_4930

I am more than halfway through my oatmeal project! Everything can be added to oatmeal, I swear! This bowl was simple: flax seed, cinnamon, homemade cranberry sauce and almond butter. Just the right amount of sweetness for the morning.

Lunch: 12pm

IMG_4933

Inspired by Mama Pea’s latest post about Shepherd’s Pie, I made my own leftovers version. I spooned some mashed potatoes into a ramekin, layered in some green beans, and topped it off with cornbread stuffing. After I microwaved it, I flipped it all back onto a plate and enjoyed a layered Thanksgiving lunch!

Afternoon Snack: 4:30

IMG_4931

I had my second consecutive day of being in the hospital today, but I am starting to get the hang of it! I finally remembered all of my diagnostic equipment (thanks to my new bag!) and was able to tote along sufficient mid-afternoon fuel. I had a handful of almonds and dried cranberries, transported neatly in a repurposed cinnamon jar, and a pear from home, and enjoyed a few chocolate covered almonds and peanut M&Ms from my  classmates.

Dinner: 8pm

IMG_4936

I was about to chew my arm off after yoga, and the walk home from the bus has never felt so long. Good thing dinner was simple! A mixed green salad topped with roasted root veggies leftover from Thanksgiving, a few walnuts, Balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Enjoyed with a leftover roll covered in TJ’s artichoke tapenade, and followed by another roll for sopping up the rest of the dressing! And water, lotsa water. Nothing makes your crave water like a good hot yoga class!

Study Snack: 9:30pm

IMG_4219

My roommate had a lot of work to do as well, so she made us a quick batch of lightly salted, air-popped popcorn to keep us productive! I love popcorn, and love being caught up on work even more!

Question: Are you still enjoying Thanksgiving leftovers?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

Roasted Holiday Veggies The Best Thing I Have Ever Made

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 30, 2011 at 10:44 am

    I love that shepherd’s pie!

    Reply
  • 2. survivingcandyland  |  November 30, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Unfortunately my family ate all our leftovers, so I couldn’t bring any home to my apartment. Depressing. Oatmeal project? I am sort of doing something similar. I love creating random oatmeal ideas.

    Reply
  • 4. brokencookiesdontcount  |  November 30, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Leftovers are the Best! I always try to make extras of my favorites so that I can enjoy the leftovers!

    Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  December 1, 2011 at 1:58 am

    Cranberry + oats sounds like an amazing combo! Great use of leftovers!

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  December 1, 2011 at 11:39 am

      Thanks, definitely give it a try if you have any cranberry sauce left :)

      Reply
  • 7. Living, Learning, Eating  |  December 3, 2011 at 2:45 am

    Your breakfast bowl looks amaaaaaaaaaazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


