Giving Thanks

November 26, 2011 at 6:38 pm 6 comments

There is so much to be thankful for this year. I got to be home with my family for several days. The family that we are not near, we have gotten to catch up with on the phone.  I have been able to spend time with my sister and my closest friends. I have not had to think about school or sneak away to get work done at all during this holiday. I am well and energetic, able to go for a run in the beautiful fall weather each morning. I have so many hobbies that I can enjoy, in both busyness and vacation: cooking, knitting, blogging, running. I have a fridge full of good food and have been able to spend days in the kitchen with my mom, experimenting with old and new favorite recipes. I am so thankful for the many blessings I have in my life, but am most thankful for the deep and meaningful relationships that I have. My sister was asked to sing at a church member’s funeral on Friday, and I was deeply touched by the message of how important relationships are in life. The pastor’s sermon emphasized her importance as a wife, mother, grandmother, and friend. The tributes recounted memories of time spent together and, even without knowing her well, I could see how deeply she had touched others lives. One day, we will look back and remember holidays, birthdays, and dinners spent together. Important things of the present like exam scores, work deadlines, and temporal achievements will fade away. I hope to carry this message with me throughout each day of the year, and not just let it permeate my mind during this holiday of thankfulness.

To celebrate Thanksgiving, we made our traditional feast, even if we were a day late! The rest of this post will be pictures and links, with a few teasers of some recipes I will post in the next few days. Enjoy the rest of the holiday weekend and continue to reflect on the many people who bless your life each day.

IMG_4895

An easy appetizer: canned crescent rolls with a spoonful of cranberry sauce and slice of brie cheese inside. A great way to use some leftover cranberry sauce as well!

IMG_4896

IMG_4913

Our Thanksgiving spread

IMG_4910

Dad carving the turkey

potato process

The evolution of the mashed potatoes: roasted, then mashed, topped with roasted leeks. They contain no butter and just a splash of milk, substituting some steamed cauliflower instead! The recipe will be up soon!

Recipe to come soon!

IMG_4904

Sauteed green beans in the forefront, using red onions instead of shallot, and roasted asparagus in the back. My sister claims that she has never liked asparagus so much, so that simple recipe will be posted soon as well!

Sauteed Green Beans, a Homemade Adventure Original

Mustard Roasted Asparagus, recipe to come soon!

IMG_4905

We roasted the white and colored veggies separate, trying to keep the beets apart for as long as possible so everything didn't turn pink! Worked out well, and also allowed the unique flavors of the turnip, rutebega, parsnip, carrot, and beet separate! We spiced things up with some fresh sage, thyme and rosemary added before roasting the veggies.

Roasted Root Vegetable Candy, from the Pioneer Woman Cooks

IMG_4906

Spiced Sweet Potatoes, made with sliced almonds instead of pecans. Lesson learned: go shopping for staple items before Thanksgiving Eve! Our grocery store ran out of pecans! Pecans or almonds, this is so good that you will never go back to the marshmallow casserole again.

Spiced Sweet Potatoes, from Rufus’ Guide

IMG_4908

Mom's classic Sausage and Herb Dressing, recipe from an old cookbook.

IMG_4907

Cornbread Stuffing, made with homemade veggie broth and heated in a casserole dish instead of stuffed in the turkey. My first experience with this type of dressing, I was skeptical when we first put it in the oven, since I am used to the more rustic stuffing that my mom makes. The results sure were sweet, though!

Cornbread Stuffing, from Rufus’ Guide

IMG_4912

My homemade cranberry sauce, a new holiday favorite!

Homemade Cranberry Sauce, a Homemade Adventure Original

IMG_4911

Vegan Whole Wheat Dinner Rolls, so simple and easy!

Dinner Rolls from About.com (How did people cook before Google? ;)

IMG_4914

My Thanksgiving plate! Who says you need turkey on Thanksgiving? Love all of the colors from our veggies!

gingerbread trifle

A Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle, with recipe to come! Adapted from a few different sources, this is a relatively healthy dessert and is a beautiful way to end your Thanksgiving meal!

Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle, recipe to come soon!

Question: Which recipe do you want to see first?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

WIA… on Thanksgiving Day Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 26, 2011 at 7:03 pm

    What a wonderful meal. I love the idea of mashing roasted potatoes and your green beans look amazing. So glad you liked the potatoes and the stuffing too! Hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend.

    Reply
    • 2. homemadeadventure  |  November 27, 2011 at 3:21 pm

      Thanks, you too! I love the chunky mashed potatoes, and the roasting adds a lot of flavor and texture!

      Reply
  • 3. Allison (Allison's Delicious Life)  |  November 26, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Can’t believe I’ve never thought to put cranberry sauce in a crescent roll. The addition of brie just sets it over the top! What a great idea.

    Reply
  • 5. WIAW Leftovers Editions « homemadeadventure  |  November 30, 2011 at 6:39 am

    […] may be old news, but I am still enjoying the leftovers from our meal on Friday! (Yes, we postponed Thanksgiving…) I tried to help my parents out by not leaving […]

    Reply
  • 6. Homemade Vegetable Stock « homemadeadventure  |  December 10, 2011 at 10:15 am

    […] is no sodium added, and you can control what the ultimate flavor. We used some of the broth for our cornbread stuffing, and I froze the rest and transported it back to Boston with me. Cheap, healthy, and easy. See, I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


