A for Alliteration

November 17, 2011 at 6:00 pm 5 comments

Not only were my meal creations earlier this week tasty for two days in a row, but they also were really simple to make! And they lend themselves to fun alliterative names! You’ve waited long enough, so here are the stories and recipes behind the pictures…

IMG_4813

My mom frequently stocks me up with bulk goods from Costco, which makes me a happy camper to have an endless supply of shelf stable nut butters, pasta, quinoa, raisins, oatmeal and other staples. One of my Mom’s favorite gifts are Tasty Bites Madras Lentils. She leaves a box in her office for a quick, filling, healthier-than-fast-food lunch when work gets out of control. They are all natural and vegetarian, and taste really good for a pre-packaged meal. My only problem is that I never find a need to use them as is! Between dinner plans with friends and a well stocked freezer with my own frozen leftovers, I rarely run into an emergency situation that necessitates a lentils and rice kind of meal. However, even shelf stable food eventually expires! I had two pouches to use up and wanted to spice things up a little bit… hence, the Cheater’s Chili was born! Vegetarian chili is not too difficult to make in the first place, and this takes even less effort for a fast weeknight meal!

IMG_4816

Cheater’s Chili

serves 5-6

2 pouches Tasty Bites Madras Lentils

1 can chickpeas, drained

1 large can tomatoes, chopped with liquid

2 small red onions, sliced thinly

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp chili powder

2 sweet potatoes

Peel and dice the sweet potatoes. Roast on a greased pan in the oven for a half hour, until they start to soften. Meanwhile, saute the onions in the juice from the canned tomatoes. Once the onions are soft, add the tomatoes and chickpeas. Add the sweet potatoes and bring to a low boil. Add the lentils and spices and stir to combine. Cover and let cook on low heat for 15-20 minutes. Serve warm and enjoy!

IMG_4819

The Persimmon Pizza came about in a similar need to rid my fridge of older produce before receiving my latest Boston Organics shipment. Persimmons are not an east coast local food, and I had heard very little of them before receiving them from a friend and her mom. There are two types: hard and soft, with the latter having an almost jelly like consistency. The hard can be sliced and eaten in wedges, and remind me of a cross between a tomato and apple. The flavor is growing on me, but I still couldn’t eat them fast enough! The sweetness of the fruit reminded me of figs (even though they taste nothing alike) and so it made me feel like they would pair well with goat cheese. After a Google search of “persimmon pizza,” I found a blog that linked to another blog written in Portugese. Nothing that Google Translate can’t solve! My suspicions were confirmed: garlic, basil, goat cheese, and persimmons do in fact make a wonderful pizza. I added some spinach for some of my own veggie flair, and this pizza was finished within two days. My dinner guest loved it, and I was glad to have someone to experiment on!

IMG_4817

Persimmon Pizza

serves 3-4

1 batch pizza dough, rolled into a rectangle

1 tbsp olive oil

sprinkle of garlic powder

sprinkle of dried basil

3 cups spinach, lightly steamed

2 persimmons, sliced thinly

4-5 oz goat cheese

Roll pizza dough into a rectangle and transfer to a greased cookie sheet. Drizzle crust with olive oil and dust lightly with garlic powder and dried basil. Top with spinach, persimmon slices, and crumbled goat cheese. Cook at 375 degrees F for 35 minutes, and then broil for 3 minutes. Cut into squares and serve.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

WIAW For Two Days Straight What to do When You Don’t Eat Turkey on Turkey Day

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 18, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I love chickpeas and lentils, but haven’t paired them. Love that pizza.

    Reply
  • 2. Samantha  |  November 20, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Yum! I will have to pair persimmons, spinach and goat cheese in a pizza when my next shipment of persimmons comes from the Moms and the Dads! Or I’ll make it for them when I am at home over xmas! Thanks, Jen :)

    Reply
  • 4. bella  |  December 1, 2011 at 7:55 pm

    I will be trying the persimmon-goat cheese pizza on saturday and can’t wait.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


