WIAW For Two Days Straight

November 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm 6 comments

Wait, what is today? Wednesday? Are you sure? Maybe it’s because my meals and snacks for the past two days have been shockingly similar, or maybe all this time cooped up at my desk is starting to get to me… but I can hardly keep the days straight any more! I am not a meal repeater and need variety in my eats, so you know these must be good if I could eat the exact same thing two days in a row! Recipes will be up tomorrow, so this is just to whet your appetite!

Breakfast

IMG_4820

Oatmeal, of course! Today’s flavor was chai spiced: I steeped a chai tea bag in hot water while I was finishing up last night’s dishes. When the kitchen was clean(ish) and I was ready to make breakfast for real, I removed the tea bag, added some milk and brought it to a boil. I added in my oats and chia seeds, a dash of ginger, and a few shakes of cinnamon. Sweetened with a spoonful of honey at the end – it was like a chai tea latte with some staying power!

Mid-morning snack

IMG_4821

Fruit and nuts both days! Today’s mixed was perked up with the last handful of my chocolate covered espresso beans… it’s never to early for a chocolate pick me-up, right?

Lunch

IMG_4816

A big bowl of “Cheater’s Chili” two days in a row! Sweet potatoes, lentils, chickpeas, tomatoes and onions… so simple and good! You’ll have to come back tomorrow to see why I cheated! Lunch was paired with an apple, but those are boring to photograph!

Mid-afternoon Snack

IMG_4822

I made the mistake of running an errand hungry. I couldn’t resist the 75% off candy corn at Rite Aid, but was able to create an intervention when I got home. I made this great sweet-n-salty snack mix with air-popped popcorn dusted with cinnamon, salted peanuts, and candy corn. The popcorn fills you up before you can eat too much candy corn, and it satisfies all cravings at once!

Dinner

IMG_4819

Have you eaten a persimmon before? Until last week, I had never even heard of them! My friend’s parents have a persimmon tree in their backyard in CA, though, and so I got to try a few from the last shipment. Not so sure if I am a fan of just eating them sliced, but I am a fan of them on this pizza! They are super sweet, and so I got the idea from a fig and prosciutto sandwich I tasted over the summer in Italy. How can you go wrong with a goat cheese pizza, right? A friend and I enjoyed this pizza for dinner last night, and I am looking forward to the leftovers for tonight! You can look forward to it as well… the recipe will be up tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , .

How to Surprise Your Sister A for Alliteration

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sara @my less serious life  |  November 16, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    brilliant snack! i love the salty peanut and candy corn mix. but adding popcorn for some filler (plus i love it) is so smart. will try this soon – i still have some candy corn in my pantry!

    Reply
  • 2. Lauren  |  November 16, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    That is a fantastic idea! I’m going to make my oats with tea water tomorrow too!

    Reply
  • 3. EmandM  |  November 17, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Love persimmons! Glad that we both go crazyyy around this time =)

    Reply
  • 4. Tt in nyc  |  November 18, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    I love persimmons but only cooked! Roasted chunks in the oven, bit of salt, lots of black pepper, drizzle with basalmic vinegar- i put ontop of my salads and sandwiches:)

    Reply
    • 5. homemadeadventure  |  November 19, 2011 at 10:53 am

      That sounds really good – would have never thought of roasting them!

      Reply
  • 6. Living, Learning, Eating  |  November 19, 2011 at 10:57 am

    Yummies! Especially to that beany yumminess :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


