Moroccan Salad

November 3, 2011 at 10:39 pm 6 comments

Around the start of this blog, I was in a carrot conundrum. There are only so many carrot sticks I can eat before feeling like I am about to sprout some bunny ears! I am facing a similar predicament again! Getting 3-4 huge carrots every other week in my Boston Organics box is posing quite the challenge. Yes, I could put them on my “no” list and take a carrot break for a while, but they are tasty and delicious when you find a use for them… Time to bring back the carrot slaw!

IMG_4702

I didn’t have cumin seeds on hand this time, so I just used a heavier sprinkle of ground cumin. I also didn’t add the olive oil since I dressed the salad later. To use up some other box produce, I decided to expand this salad. Use whatever you have on hand as a base – I happened to get romaine lettuce and alfalfa sprouts, but I am sure spinach or spring mix would be just as good! Honestly, the dressing pulls everything together in this salad, and is light and refreshing, so do follow the recipe for this component! It leaves you with a nice lemon taste upon finishing the salad – none of that onion or garlic breath that plagues too many good lunch salads. Enjoy the fresh flavors and spice up those carrots!

Question: What is your favorite carrot recipe?

IMG_4703

Carrot Slaw Salad

serves 4 for lunch

1 head romaine lettuce, washed and cut into bite size strips

1 clamshell alfalfa sprouts

1 recipe carrot slaw (requires about 3 very large carrots, or 4 smaller ones)

1/4 cup hummus

juice of 2 lemons

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp dried parsley

In a large salad bowl, combine the lettuce and alfalfa sprouts. In a separate bowl, mix together the carrot slaw. In a third container, combine the hummus, lemon juice, olive oil and parsley. Stir until well combined. Top the greens with the carrot slaw, and then drizzle with the dressing. If preparing one salad at a time, store these three components in separate containers until assembly.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

WIAW Weekend with Mom Edition Rocky Road Cookie Bars

6 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


