WIAW Weekend with Mom Edition

November 2, 2011 at 7:05 am 5 comments

Happy Wednesday everyone! Switching things up for this What I Ate Wednesday, again, since I had such an exciting, fun, food-filled weekend. My mom was visiting, and we always enjoy trying new foods together! We got to explore so many new things: kelp, Malaysian food, homemade Indian curry, vegan desserts, local diners, and Trader Joe’s finds! Here is a brief recap of some of the fantastic food I enjoyed with my mom over the weekend (aka the few times I remembered to snap a picture!)

ethiopian

Mom and I trying Ethiopian food at Addis Red Sea in Boston during our last Girl's Weekend 1 1/2 years ago

Saturday morning breakfast

IMG_4678

Special breakfasts were a Saturday tradition in my house growing up. Can’t let that spirit die while Mom is visiting! We were out late visiting friends the night before, so slept in and lazily enjoyed my take on CCK’s vegan Banana Pancakes. I added 1/4 cup of pumpkin to the batter instead of the mashed banana, and then added sliced banana to the pancakes instead. They were thick, cakey, and delicious. Served with some pumpkin butter, sprinkled cinnamon, and a side of apple slices, it was a perfect start to our day!

Saturday afternoon lunch

kelp

Beautiful photo of the Kelp Cole Slaw, taken from the Ocean Approved Facebook page. Check them out! http://www.facebook.com/OceanApproved?sk=wall

We spent a few hours exploring the Boston Vegetarian Food Festival, a fun event hosted annually that keeps getting more and more popular! It was my first time checking it out, so neither my mom nor I had a clue of what to expect. I brought my camera along, but it was too crowded to try to take pictures! Even with the mobs, we still had fun. There were a few fun recipe books to browse through, lots of coupons, and a few great samples (I finally got to try Daiya cheese!). This celebration of a plant-based diet was fun for my mom, who has recently been trying to eat more veggie heavy meals lately. My only complaint is that there was lots of vegan junk food and not a lot of vegetables, especially since this was a veggie festival… Highlight of the event for my mom and I: trying locally grown kelp. A group of kelp farmer’s from Maine were handing out samples of their kelp slaw, so of course we tried it! We chatted with them for a while about how the kelp is grown, what conditions are best, and why its texture is unchanged by the freezing process. Check out their website if you are like us and want the nerdy details! The coleslaw was amazing! The kelp was chewy and fresh, full of all the great sea minerals without the salty taste of typical dried sea plants. My mom and I are planning to order some frozen kelp to try making our own recreation of this sea salad!

Sunday afternoon snack

IMG_4682

Trader Joe’s, sadly, does not exist in my part of NJ. Well, did not exist. There is a small store that opened near where my Mom works, so I wanted to introduce her to the full glory of my favorite place to grocery shop! We stocked up on wine, crackers, sweet potato chips, pantry essentials, and cheese. My favorite way to enjoy brie cheese is with apple slices and a few multigrain pita crackers from TJ’s. This photo better features my beautiful momma than the tasty snack, but you get the idea!

Sunday evening dinner

IMG_4685

IMG_4687

IMG_4691

After a long day of cleaning, reorganizing, and winter proofing the house, we were a hungry bunch! This simple and last-minute dinner turned out amazing! We roasted some Brussels sprouts, straight from the stalk and split in half, with some delicata squash rings and chickpeas. Drizzled with olive oil and Balsamic vinegar, sprinkled with salt, pepper, and thyme, and roasted in a 350 degree oven for about an hour (stirred every twenty minutes or so). We served that over an Israeli cous cous mix from Trader Joe’s and paired it with a glass of chardonnay. It was a great way to celebrate spending a special weekend with my mom!

Question: What was the highlight of your weekend meals?

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , , , .

Home Improvements Moroccan Salad

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jenn @ Peas and Crayons  |  November 2, 2011 at 8:44 am

    aww glad you had a great weekend with your mom! <3 I'm totally craving sprouts now! Happy WIAW!!!

    Reply
  • 2. brokencookiesdontcount  |  November 2, 2011 at 10:06 am

    Nothing is better than time with Mom!! Your food looks yummy!

    Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  November 2, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    That squash looks fantastic. Glad you had time to cook between all the house projects.

    Reply
  • 4. Living, Learning, Eating  |  November 4, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    I used to love kelp and seaweed salad! And then I got a really bad case of food poisoning from a box of seaweed salad from Whole Foods (never again! and over Thanksgiving, to boot!). :P

    Anyway, I’ve moved over to blogger ( http://living-learning-eating.blogspot.com/ ) and I’d love if you’d subscribe! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


