Changing Plans and Exciting Events

October 22, 2011 at 9:32 am 7 comments

Boston

An idea of the beauty of Boston in the cooperative fall weather. Image from worldhum.com

I had the most exciting of Friday evenings planned for last night. I biked to meet a friend for a run, ran along the Charles River through beautiful fall leaves as the sun set, and then biked home. My heart was filled with good conversations, beautiful fall pictures of Boston, and great exercise. I planned to make a great fall vegetable filled meal and settle into my laptop for an evening of writing a grant proposal. (I am reaching the age where I am okay lounging in slippers and getting work done on a Friday night if I am tired or busy, no longer feeling the need to go out to be able to say I did something. Does that mean I’m getting old?!) Anyway, a turn of events on the way home shook up my calm evening plans (I am okay, so don’t worry!) and so my fall dinner never happened. I have grand plans to make it tomorrow evening instead and will be back then with a post about it!

August to Sept 041

Mom and I walking in the Jimmy Fund Walk, celebrating the end of her treatment!

Until then, I have exciting news: my lovely mother is coming to visit for a girl’s weekend next week! We enjoy spending time together and are excited to get to share healthy meals, take walks in the Boston fall, and catch up on life. One exciting event we have planned for next weekend is the 2011 Komen Race for the Cure! My mom is a breast cancer survivor, and I was so excited to learn that a group of my classmates was forming a team for this event. Most of them will be running, but I will be walking the 5K with and in honor of my mom. She continues to be an inspiration for me of how to live a life of faith in the face of hardship and I am so thankful to be able to continue learning from her daily. If you are interested in supporting our team, check out this link. You can donate by searching me as a participant (“Jennifer New” will allow you to find me) or for our team (BUSM Say Yes to the Breast). Every donation, no matter the size, is helpful in funding research and treatment resources for breast cancer. It is a terrible diagnosis to receive, and hopefully the money we raise will help one less woman hear those words.

Question: Have you participated in cancer fundraising events in the past?

Entry filed under: Ramblings. Tags: , , , , .

Pumpkin Baking Cranberry Quinoa

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 22, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Have a great visit with your mom. I’m glad to hear she’s a survivor and that you two are doing the race.

    Reply
  • 2. Robyn Varner  |  October 23, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    I just did the Race for the Cure today here in Eugene! It was so fun and inspiring (and I got one of my good friends to run her first 5k!). You and your mama will totally enjoy it.

    Reply
    • 3. homemadeadventure  |  October 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm

      Fun, congrats on the 5K! I am really looking forward to it :)

      Reply
  • 4. goingsteadyblog  |  October 25, 2011 at 8:24 am

    I’m glad your mom is doing okay! My mom is also a breast cancer survivor (as are two of my aunts). She’s not really into fundraisers, but I keep thinking I should participate in a Race for the Cure event. Maybe next year when I can run better than a 11:30 mile! :-)

    Reply
    • 5. homemadeadventure  |  October 25, 2011 at 10:29 pm

      Thanks, and I’m glad to hear that your mom and aunts are survivors as well. I am really looking forward to the race, even if I am only walking it! I love all of the energy that comes with these events.

      Reply
  • 6. Early Holiday Cheer « homemadeadventure  |  October 29, 2011 at 11:18 am

    […] it is Halloween, and not Thanksgiving or Christmas. My mom is here this weekend (we are doing the breast cancer walk tomorrow, as long as it doesn’t snow!) and that is a holiday and cause for celebration itself. […]

    Reply
  • 7. Home Improvements « homemadeadventure  |  November 1, 2011 at 7:23 am

    […] mom and I had planned to participate in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure, but a pesky Noreaster got in our way. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 216 other followers

Memberships


