WIAW in the Future

October 18, 2011 at 11:23 pm 18 comments

How is it Wednesday already? This week has been long, but at the same time is flying. Because of scheduled school events, I have had no good days to take pictures of my food. (Not really appropriate to explain to your professor over a lunch meeting why you are photographing your vermicelli bowl…) Don’t wanna miss out on Jenn’s party though! So for this week, I am switching it up a little bit. Instead of showing you what I have been eating, I will share what I will be eating!

I got my Boston Organics delivery today. It is like Christmas every other Tuesday! I love getting home and finding a big box of produce, love having a full fridge of healthy food, and love that it is mostly local and all organic. I usually get half fruits and veggies, but I am still stocked up on a bunch of apples and clementines from the grocery store, so switched to the 2/3 veggie box for the week. In the box this week:

IMG_4646

  • 3 small delicata squash
  • 2 yellow onions
  • 2 big beets
  • head of lettuce
  • bunch of kale
  • 3 big carrots

IMG_4648

  • 1 large tomato
  • clamshell of basil
  • 3 apples
  • 2 plums
  • 4 bananas
  • 1 bag cranberries

IMG_4649

Many of my friends are curious about how I cook through a box in a week, having been recent CSA or Boston Organics customers themselves, or skeptics of a program like this. I get my box every other week, supplementing the later part of the last week with some frozen veggies, and adding a few bulk seasonal fruits (either through the delivery program or from the grocery store) to round everything out. I find this to be the perfect system for me, but starting a program like Boston Organics will take some experimenting with how much you eat, how often you want your delivery, what you want your mix to be, etc.

Here are some thoughts of what I will make from my produce box this week…

My mind is easily changed, though! Have you made anything lately with these veggies that was outstanding? Let me know in the comments section below!

One thing my mind can’t be changed over… how to use the basil. It is already gone! I made Chelsey’s vegan pesto, which I am nicknaming the poor student’s pesto. My classic pesto can become quite pricey thanks to the fancy cheese and pine nuts, and this is a nice weekday alternative for a pesto craving. I cut down a bit on the olive oil and added a big scoop of hummus for creaminess, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. I mixed this in with some leftover broccoli and diced tomato (from last week’s farmer’s market trip) and some angel hair pasta. This will definitely be a favorite spread/sauce from now on!

IMG_4652

Question: What will you be eating this week? Any ideas for my box? Like I said, my plans are flexible!

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , .

Urban Camping and NH Hiking Adventure Pumpkin Baking

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn@ LivingOriental  |  October 19, 2011 at 5:41 am

    Wow, I wish I can get organic food delivered to my house as well! That sounds like a terrific idea! You’re kale in the box makes me wanna make a big pot of kale and white bean soup haha.

    Pasta looks awesome!! I need to check on that recipe :)

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah @ The Smart Kitchen  |  October 19, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I’d love for you to try my stuffed delicata squash! If you want to really get the flavor of the squash first, use one to make squash rings…they are so pretty and look like flowers. Just slice the squash like a cucumber and cut out the seeds, then spray them with oil cooking spray and sprinkle with thyme, salt, and pepper. Cook for about 10-15 minutes on each side (depending on how thick you cut them) at 375 or 400 degrees.

    Then stuff the other two. :)

    Reply
  • 5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 19, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Do you get good turnips up there? I like those because you can use the greens and the vegetable. But the haul you have looks great.

    Reply
    • 6. homemadeadventure  |  October 19, 2011 at 8:30 pm

      We do get good turnips! We got some from the farmer’s market, but the greens were cut off. Gonna try mashing them sometime this week

      Reply
  • 7. mindrunningwild  |  October 19, 2011 at 10:14 am

    mmm I can’t wait to see what you do with that squash. You know you can eat the skin, right? good stuff, that.

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  October 19, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      I did! This is only my second time working with this squash, so I’m pretty excited!

      Reply
  • 9. brokencookiesdontcount  |  October 19, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    The pasta looks delicious!

    Reply
    • 10. homemadeadventure  |  October 19, 2011 at 8:32 pm

      Check out Chelsey’s blog and give it a try – so yummy!

      Reply
  • 11. vegansunshine  |  October 19, 2011 at 3:59 pm

    First time visiting your blog- what a cute idea! Homemade is ALWAYS better. ;)

    Happy WIAW

    Whitney

    Reply
  • 13. Tt in nyc  |  October 19, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    I actually had tremendous success using sunflowerseeds in my “pesto” in a desperate attempt to not leave my apt or spend $$…. It was super yummy! I recycled the last leftover scoop of pesto into a hummus flavoring and that was also a happy experiment! Your organics box looks lovely- but, uh, where are the bananas from?

    Reply
    • 14. homemadeadventure  |  October 20, 2011 at 8:33 am

      That sounds great! The bananas are not local – the program sources as much from as close as possible, but rounds the rest of the box out through partnerships with farms from around the continent. MA doesn’t have the best growing climate for fruit (besides fall apples!) and so this is a bit of a compromise

      Reply
  • 15. F.  |  October 20, 2011 at 9:22 am

    I’ve never had kale… I keep reading about it.

    Reply
    • 16. homemadeadventure  |  October 20, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Try it sometime soon if you have it available! It is kind of like a sturdier spinach and is really great in stews and stir fries.

      Reply
  • 17. Cranberry Quinoa « homemadeadventure  |  October 24, 2011 at 7:09 am

    […] those all go together! What goes well with roasted squash? Dark, leafy greens and cranberries! I recently posted what I received in my Boston Organics box, and have already fallen off from my original plan. First […]

    Reply
  • 18. The Cure for a Cold Apartment « homemadeadventure  |  October 28, 2011 at 12:22 am

    […] Serve it with some homemade bread or dinner rolls, and you have two of your bases covered! I planned on making this recipe from Frugal Feeding to use up some of the huge carrots I got in my Boston […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 218 other followers

Memberships


