Sweet Potatoes Three Ways

October 8, 2011 at 8:04 am 3 comments

Sweet potatoes are one of my favorite ingredients to play with. They work well with almost any spice combo, whether it be maple and cinnamon, curry and ginger, or cumin and chili powder. They are so versatile, really nutritious, cheap and easy to store! What more could you ask for in a potato?

IMG_4504

My all time favorite way to enjoy them is as fries. Over the summer, I shared my grilled sweet potato fries, but without a grill at my disposal, I have returned to the oven! I used the same spice combo (olive oil, salt and paprika) coated over sweet potatoes cut into long rectangles. I spread these out over a baking sheet, and then baked them at 350 for 20 minutes. I rotated them and flipped them on the pan, and then roasted them for another 20 minutes. I then moved them to the top rack and broiled them for 3 minutes, giving them the perfect crisp that oven fries often lack! After many attempts, I have finally mastered oven-baked sweet potato fries!

IMG_4506

I also made a Curried Sweet Potato and Carrot Soup, inspired by recipes that showed up both on the Boston Organics blog and on Going Steady. I roasted one sweet potato for a half hour to make it easier to peel, and then sauteed that with 1/4 of a sweet onion, and 1 large chopped carrot in a bit of canola oil. Once the onions and carrot were soft, I added 1 cup of vegetable stock, 1 tsp of curry powder, and chopped fresh ginger (about a piece the size of my thumb nail). I let this simmer, covered, for 20 minutes, and then threw it all in my blender with 1 more cup of vegetable stock. I finished heating this through on the stove, adding a pinch of salt, and then enjoyed a perfect fall meal. This made enough for 2 servings, so I could enjoy one with a pumpkin ale for dinner, and have lunch for another day as well!

IMG_4522

Sweet potatoes are also perfect replacements for white potatoes for a baked potato. Simply wrap a washed potato in foil and roast it at 350 degrees for about an hour, or until soft. To make it a meal, I top my half with beans, veggies, and cheese or nutritional yeast. Black beans spiced with cumin and sauteed with diced tomatoes and onion are great, but this time I tried some lentils I had lying around! They are a “meal in a bag” type deal that my mom got me for busy nights, and they have a short ingredient list with pretty good nutritional stats! I spiced them up with some sauteed sweet onion, red chili flakes, and a bit of chili powder. Not the most photogenic of meals, but I swear that it was delicious! A trick for making the potato easier to eat is cutting a criss-cross pattern into the potato half after roasting, making it easy to spoon off the skin!

IMG_4535

Question: What is your favorite way to enjoy a sweet potato?

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Fall Favorites: Sugar Free Apple Crisp Carbo-loading

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 8, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Those fries, well everything, look spectacular!

    Reply
  • 2. Stefanie  |  October 9, 2011 at 12:00 am

    I only like yellow sweet potatoes, not yams :) But add some cinnamon, brown sugar, and marshmallows and I’m a happy girl! Your 3 ways look really tasty and that must be awesome for you that you’ve perfected the oven fries!! Sounds like a great way to do them

    Reply
  • 3. SavageMuscle  |  October 15, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    Just tossed some sweet potato fries in the oven – can’t wait to try these! Thanks :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


