Fall Favorites: Sugar Free Apple Crisp

October 7, 2011 at 7:00 am 18 comments

There is nothing better in the fall than apples, especially in New England. They are incredibly cheap at the local grocery store, crisp, fresh, and so much sweeter than their available year-round cousins. I am hoping to go apple picking soon, but the 6-lb bag I purchased for $6 the other day should hold me over until then! Anyone who follows my blog regularly may be confused to see a dessert recipe up here. Why is that? Oh yeah, my crazy roommate and I decided to give up sugar for three weeks, and we are smack-dab in the middle of it! Neither of us have huge sweet tooths, but there are just some days when you want dessert. My roommate, sick with what might be my cold (sorry!), had a rough day and was really in the mood for a baked treat. I told her to forget the sugar fast and take a day off, but she is stronger willed than I! I admire her determination and fierce commitment, and so I told her I would experiment with a sugar-free apple crisp.

IMG_4541

The results surprised even me. Maybe our tastes are changing, or maybe fall apples really are that sweet, or maybe this recipe is really that decadent without an ounce of added sugar! There are two versions – the original, and then our second recreation during our roommate dinner. Both are excellent, the full-fat version being slightly more decadent and the applesauce version just a little sweeter. Try one or both and let me know what you think!

Question: What is your favorite recipe for fall apples?

Sugar Free Single Apple Crisp

serves 1

For apple:

1 apple, chopped

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp lemon juice

For crumble:

1 tbsp butter (melted) OR 1 1/2 tbsp applesauce

1 tsp butter (chopped into small squares)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 tbsp whole wheat flour

1 tbsp chopped almonds

4-5 tbsp oats

In a large ramekin or small loaf pan coated with cooking spray, combine chopped apple, cinnamon, and lemon juice. In a separate bowl, mix melted butter or applesauce and the rest of the ingredients. Pour over the apple mixture. Dot with the butter squares. Cook in a preheated 350 degree oven for 35 minutes until fragrant and slightly crisped.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Fall Favorites: Butternut Squash and Apple Soup Sweet Potatoes Three Ways

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. goingsteadyblog  |  October 7, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Looks great! I’m definitely trying that this weekend.

    Reply
  • 3. JensMom  |  October 7, 2011 at 9:33 am

    I’ve been waiting for you to post this recipie. Hopefully the NY State apples from Dearborn Farms will be just as sweet and juicy. BTW, I made the baked oatmeal pumpkin for breakfast this morning and it was great! Love the smell in the kitchen as I was getting ready for work. Keep the great fall recipie ideas coming………

    Reply
  • 4. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 7, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    Looks great. Apples are plenty sweet!

    Reply
  • 5. ilikestoscribble  |  October 7, 2011 at 3:31 pm

    i’m so jealous of your creativity! not a huge sweet tooth either, so this looks absolutely perfect!

    Reply
  • 7. Slow Food « homemadeadventure  |  October 14, 2011 at 8:11 am

    […] We are convinced that a sugar-free apple pie would be just as good, especially after the great single serve apple crisp results! I feel some experimenting might be happening in our […]

    Reply
  • 8. WIAW Protein Packed Edition « homemadeadventure  |  October 26, 2011 at 8:14 am

    […] craving something when I finally made it home from my long day. I made this in a similar way to my sugar-free apple crisp. I used up some leftover canned peaches sprinkled with cinnamon for the base, and then mixed some […]

    Reply
  • 9. It’s Fall Y’all: Apple « homemadeadventure  |  October 13, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    […] Sugar-Free Apple Crisp […]

    Reply
  • 10. apple & almond crumble (sugar-free) « SCRAMBLED MEGS  |  October 18, 2012 at 6:42 am

    […] (Source) […]

    Reply
  • 11. » Apple Crisp for my Girl {Low Sugar} Sumptuous Spoonfuls  |  November 4, 2012 at 8:10 pm

    […] it turns out that it doesn’t. I did a little search on Google and quickly found a recipe on Homemade Adventure that doesn’t use any sugar OR artificial sweetener. I thought my sweetie girl probably […]

    Reply
  • 12. Ann from Sumptuous Spoonfuls  |  November 4, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! My daughter has to cut sugar from her diet and she asked me to make her apple crisp and I was SO relieved to find your recipe … I was worried it wouldn’t turn out without sugar, but it was really good!

    Reply
  • 13. onemunchingmomma  |  March 28, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    Made this recipe and, despite the fact that it did not have sugar, we still really enjoyed it!

    Reply
  • 15. Greek Pasta Salad | homemadeadventure  |  May 28, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    […] dinner adventures… You may recall the voluminous winter melon soup mishap or this tasty sugar-free apple crisp we created together. She is getting married in less than a month (yay!) and I was excited to think […]

    Reply
  • 16. Sondra  |  July 22, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A theme like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your design. Cheers

    Reply
  • 17. Pam  |  November 16, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    My daughter is on a limited diet and cannot have citrus. Is there anything to substitute for the lemon juice? I was excited to find a brown sugar-free recipe, but immediately saddens to find the citrus :(. Any suggestions?

    Reply
    • 18. homemadeadventure  |  November 18, 2013 at 8:05 am

      You could just use a bit of water for moisture! The lemon juice is there mainly to keep the apples moist and from browning. Hope that will help you tailor it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


