WIAW Fall Edition

October 5, 2011 at 7:00 am 12 comments

So happy that it’s Wednesday! The last of our lectures for the cardiovascular section is today, leaving me with just 1 1/2 more days of intense studying and then 3 whole days off… As exciting as a distant long weekend may be, Wednesday is even more exciting because of Jenn’s What I Ate Wednesday Party! Hope you have had some great meals so far this week!

Breakfast: 8:30amIMG_4544

I woke up early and didn’t want to wake my roommate up while banging around the kitchen, so I snacked on a clementine until a more decent hour. When the sun was finally up (even though my roommate still wasn’t!), I decided to try a new oatmeal bake: peanut butter and banana. I mixed 1/2 cup oats with 1/4 cup milk, 1 tsp ground flax, 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/4 mashed banana. I baked it at 375 degrees for 20 minutes, broiled it for another 2 minutes, and then coated it with another swipe of peanut butter and sliced banana. Paired with a huge cup of coffee, it made for the perfect morning!

Lunch: 12:15pmIMG_4545

I am not usually a salad for lunch kind of girl because I get hungry too quickly after. But my Boston Organics box this week was packed with veggies begging for salad use! I packed myself a big salad with red leaf lettuce, baby spinach, sprouts, carrots, dried cranberries, and balsamic hummus dressing. I always keep the dressing separate when I bring a salad to go so I don’t have leak problems in my backpack en route, and so the lettuce isn’t soggy by the time I get there! No lunch is complete without fruit – a plum and another clementine!

Mid-afternoon snack: 4pm

IMG_4548

As predicted, I was hungrier than normal mid-afternoon, after walking to and from school (my bike lock broke, so I am foot mobile until my new one comes!) and spending a lot of brain energy in an exam review. I inhaled this bowl of grapes while settling back down into study-mode.

Dinner: 7pm

IMG_4551

I am so thankful roommate dinners are back! It is great to cook and share conversation together, and have an excuse to slow down for an hour or two. Plus, we usually make some pretty fantastic food! As we enjoyed a bowl of butternut squash soup with some toast, we decided that fall flavors were our favorite. Pumpkin, squash, apples, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger – so much warmth in fall food!

Dessert: 8pm

IMG_4541

If we weren’t convinced of our love for fall enough, this bowl of sugar-free apple crisp sure set us over the edge!

Be sure to come back tomorrow for the Butternut Squash and Apple Soup and the Sugar-Free Apple Crisp recipes!

Question: Are you a seasonal food lover? What is your favorite fall flavor?

Entry filed under: Random. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Golden Inspiration Fall Favorites: Butternut Squash and Apple Soup

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shannon @ Healthiful Balance  |  October 5, 2011 at 7:40 am

    Yummy eats! I love your dessert!

    Reply
  • 3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide  |  October 5, 2011 at 11:06 am

    That soup looks great. I know you have a healthy diet. Do you think documenting Wednesdays makes you even more aware of what you eat? If so it might be a good tip for future patients.

    Reply
    • 4. homemadeadventure  |  October 5, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      I definitely think more about my snacking when I am writing it all down. I also take time to put my leftovers in a dish rather than eating straight out of the Tupperware on WIAW days!

      I think keeping a food diary is a great way to help people be more mindful of what they are eating. The traditional recommendation is to write down everything you eat, but it could work better for some people to take a picture of everything they eat! Sometimes a visual representation of food volume/type consumed is more telling, and fun! Everyone’s cell phone has a camera nowadays, too! Great thought, thanks! :)

      Reply
  • 5. blondiebakesandbikes  |  October 5, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Oh my goodness all your eats look fantastic! I look forward to getting the recipes!!!

    p.s. just found your blog, and i LOVE it!!!

    Reply
  • 7. neonflamingosandwhitepeacocks  |  October 6, 2011 at 2:36 am

    love the idea of this simple oatmeal bake – sound like a delicious and quick way to start the day :) have to try this asap!

    xoxo Mel

    Reply
    • 8. homemadeadventure  |  October 6, 2011 at 9:47 am

      Definitely give it a try… it is simple and filling!

      Reply
  • […] pumpkin and squash and apples to just about everything! I am not disappointed – I mentioned yesterday my love for fall […]

    Reply
  • 10. survivingcandyland  |  October 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    gahhh the sugar free apple crisp! How do you make that???

    Reply
  • […] added sugar! There are two versions – the original, and then our second recreation during our roommate dinner. Both are excellent, the full-fat version being slightly more decadent and the applesauce version […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Get recipes directly to your inbox as soon as they are posted

Join 217 other followers

Memberships


